TomTom 910 Power Button Question

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by OhNoItsMe, Apr 4, 2007.

  1. OhNoItsMe

    OhNoItsMe

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    With my TomTom Go 910 I have to press and hold the power button for 3-5 seconds and then let go for it to power up. However to power it off I do not.

    Is this normal? Do you folks have to do the same?

    I understand that this may be a feature for preventing the unit from being accidentally powered on while in a bag or something, but I just want to make sure.
     
    OhNoItsMe, Apr 4, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. OhNoItsMe

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Yes thats correct. When I power up my TT1 unit I have to press the power button for a few seconds to turn on. I would imagine TT has done this for the reason you just mentioned.

    BTW, hello and welcome.
     
    digital-flex, Apr 4, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. OhNoItsMe

    OhNoItsMe

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool. Thanks digital-flex. :)
     
    OhNoItsMe, Apr 4, 2007
    #3
  4. OhNoItsMe

    fanchee

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 335S
    Yep, this is normal behavior. When the 910 first came out (over a year ago or so) the power button was SO sensitive that it would turn itself on in the carrying case at any little bump. The battery would then run out since you would never know it had turned itself on. So I like this feature alot. :)
     
    fanchee, Apr 4, 2007
    #4
  5. OhNoItsMe

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Hello and welcome

    Don't forget to do a back up and order your free maps.
     
    Pedro2NR, Apr 4, 2007
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.