TomTom 720 turns off, then turns back on 10 seconds later!

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by tomtommy, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. tomtommy

    tomtommy

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all,

    Maybe someone can tell me what's the deal with my TomTom 720.


    When I press the power button, the TomTom turns off and displays the briefcase splash screen.



    10 seconds or so later, it will turn back on.


    I repeat the process, and it does the same.



    I do it once more, and it stays off finally.



    What am I doing wrong here? I turn it off, then leave it on the table untouched, and it still does this.


    But then, sometimes it doesn't do this, and remains off after only 1 press.



    Is it a setting or something?


    Thanks for any help.
     
    tomtommy, Jun 14, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tomtommy

    zico21

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been having a similar experience ever since I updated to 8.010. It doesn't do it every time, but often. It has resulted in the battery being depleted unknowingly. I assumed it has to do with the update and await an update.
     
    zico21, Jun 14, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. tomtommy

    pilsit

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    there seems to be a defect file on the system. try a check disk to repair the files and perhaps also restore the system using a restore from a previous working backup.

    -pilsit
     
    pilsit, Jun 14, 2008
    #3
  4. tomtommy

    hidalgo

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    create an empty file using notepad and save it as poweroff file without the txt extension and put is in the root of your TT. It should fix the issue! Again the name of the file should be just: poweroff without any extension.
     
    hidalgo, Jun 14, 2008
    #4
  5. tomtommy

    rhys

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    I used to have that problem on my TT1 after an update.

    What always solved it was a pin reset.

    Hope it works for you.
     
    rhys, Jun 23, 2008
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.