TomTom 720 instructions via BlueTooth through car speakers

I have updated my TomTom 720 to the 8.351 firmware, and have just tried it out on my 2010 Kia Forte EX via BlueTooth. I can get the pairing to work if initiated from the car (but not if initiated from the TomTom), but no sound comes from the speakers.

Since I have never used BlueTooth before, I don't know if this is due to the latest 8.351 firmware or not. Any suggestions?

Check the specification for your car deck whilst it suports Bluetooth it might only be HFP mode (HandsFree Protocol you need it to be supporting A2DP to get the audio and music from the TomTom via the car deck using Bluetooth - If it does sport BT there is a set of files you can add to the TomTom that enhances the number of devices the PND can find and work with - check your unit can work via A2DP and post back - Mike

Check the specification for your car deck whilst it suports Bluetooth it might only be HFP mode (HandsFree Protocol you need it to be supporting A2DP to get the audio and music from the TomTom via the car deck using Bluetooth - If it does sport BT there is a set of files you can add to the TomTom that enhances the number of devices the PND can find and work with - check your unit can work via A2DP and post back - Mike
Good question. The owners manual unfortunately does not specify it, but from the limited number of posts on the Kia forum, apparently it does not support A2DP. So I guess I am out of business there. The internal TomTom speaker actually works fine for me, but I thought that if I were listening to the radio or a CD through the car speakers, it would be nice to have the BlueTooth override it, if that is how it works.

I can just try a wired connection, since my car has an input for that. Thanks for the advice.

Without A2DP support you have a number of choices: