TomTom 620 WiFi

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by srphelps, May 3, 2018.

  1. srphelps

    srphelps

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
    Hi Everyone
    I’ve been part of this forum for quite a while now and trust all of your opinions so here’s a question for you. I just got a TT 620 WiFi and it works very well however it seems like when TomTom releases a new unit it’s getting more dummied down than the one before. Case in point. I remember when I bought a go 2535 everyone complained it didn’t have a compass and was missing quite a few other features now come the 620 WiFi and they took away the clock on the follow me screen ( when not in navigation mode ) and the maps are strange to me. All the roads are dark colored and it can’t be changed. That’s just a few things I’ve noticed. So my biggest question is..... what do you guys think of the new Tomtom’s and have you heard if they there going to make some improvements.

    Thank you for your time
     
    srphelps, May 3, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. srphelps

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,667
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Newer releases certainly have been dummied down over what prevailed with older models. Improvements?? Other than WiFi in the newest models, I don't see much in the near future. Others may have differing opinions.
     
    dhn, May 3, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. srphelps

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    I presume you are not running with Night colours. Menu > bottom RH icon, if tapped on the half moon it should have a diagonal line through it.
    Maybe you could use a different base colour. Menu > Settings > Appearance > Display > Theme color.
    Two below that is Brightness with Day and Night settings.
     
    Arno, May 4, 2018
    #3
  4. srphelps

    srphelps

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
    Yeah it’s in day color. I tried the theme color but it didn’t change the color of the roads. Do you have the same unit? Is your display show the roads black? Just curious.
    Thank you for your response
     
    srphelps, May 4, 2018
    #4
  5. srphelps

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    No, my roads are not in black. On second print you can see my Home location. Screen 05-03-18 at 08.14 PM.JPG Screen 05-03-18 at 08.14 PM 001.JPG
     
    Arno, May 4, 2018
    #5
  6. srphelps

    srphelps

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
    How did you do that? What setting do you have yours on? That looks great
     
    srphelps, May 4, 2018
    #6
  7. srphelps

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Out of the box.
    I changed very few of my Settings from Default,

    Take a picture of yours and post it here, maybe one of us will notice something.
     
    Arno, May 4, 2018
    #7
  8. srphelps

    srphelps

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
    Thank you very much
    I figured out how yours looks like that 2D and 3D if you push your compass it will switch between the two. On mine in the 3D mode the roads are a real dark grey and freeways and state roads are black. At least I think that’s how yours looks different than mine.
     
    srphelps, May 4, 2018
    #8
  9. srphelps

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Screen 05-04-18 at 08.19 AM.JPG In 3D mine are all black, even the Interstates.
    When you program a route, the suggested route pipe will be blue (default colour).
     
    Arno, May 4, 2018
    #9
  10. srphelps

    srphelps

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
    We’ll at least I know now that it’s normal. I still like it though I just hope TomTom makes some decent improvements on it.
     
    srphelps, May 4, 2018
    #10
  11. srphelps

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Just to be sure, you did download and install the TomTom MyDrive App on your cell phone.
    It is the Data plan from your cell phone that provides the Live Traffic connection and is also used for phone calls.
    If set up right you can have text message read out while driving, also Whatsapp.
    If you have questions to that someone else will have to answer as I, except for original testing haven't used it.
     
    Arno, May 4, 2018
    #11
  12. srphelps

    srphelps

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
    Ok thank you
    I have the app on my phone however it’s a iPhone X and I’ve been kinda hearing that the app is not compatible at this time
     
    srphelps, May 4, 2018
    #12
  13. srphelps

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,335
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Since he has a 620, he can just as easily set up the phone as a WiFi hot spot and have the 620 get its traffic that way -- providing he doesn't have to pay any extra for using his phone as a hot spot. No difference in how much data it will use.
     
    canderson, May 5, 2018
    #13
  14. srphelps

    srphelps

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
    Yeah that’s how I’ve been doing it and it works very well.
     
    srphelps, May 5, 2018
    #14
  15. srphelps

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    From this
    https://www.telus.com/en/on/support/article/use-android-phone-wifi-hotspot
    I see no difference. A data plan must still be paid.
    Like to hear more about it, thanks.
     
    Arno, May 5, 2018
    #15
  16. srphelps

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,335
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yes, to do either BT or WiFi, a data plan is needed.
    For the OP:
    The difference is that with the BT app, you can get around tethering fees, if your plan requires one. If there's no tethering fee, then you can go with BT or WiFi as it suits you since the cost will be the same. In fact, some have said that battery use is better with the WiFi solution.
     
    canderson, May 5, 2018
    #16
  17. srphelps

    srphelps

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
    So would I ask my cell provider about tethering fees?
     
    srphelps, May 5, 2018
    #17
  18. srphelps

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,335
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    That's correct. If there's an additional fee on top of your data plan, give the TomTom app a try on your phone first. If there's no additional fee, might as well do it the simple way and set your phone up as a WiFi hot spot. I know that in times past, Apple has warned about heat when in hot spot mode, but the small amount of data that will be involved keeps that from being an issue, even with the older phones.
     
    canderson, May 5, 2018
    #18
  19. srphelps

    srphelps

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wisconsin USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
    Ok thank you for your help. This site is amazing
     
    srphelps, May 7, 2018
    #19
  20. srphelps

    ve1bvd

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL350 TM GO 620 with WiFi
    I just got my GO 620 the other day, and I noticed that when I was in a shopping centre parking lot, the parking slot dividing lines showed up as green. the persisted even as i zoomed out a couple of levels.

    Phil
     
    ve1bvd, May 20, 2018
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.