TomTom 620 WiFi


Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
96
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
Hi Everyone
I’ve been part of this forum for quite a while now and trust all of your opinions so here’s a question for you. I just got a TT 620 WiFi and it works very well however it seems like when TomTom releases a new unit it’s getting more dummied down than the one before. Case in point. I remember when I bought a go 2535 everyone complained it didn’t have a compass and was missing quite a few other features now come the 620 WiFi and they took away the clock on the follow me screen ( when not in navigation mode ) and the maps are strange to me. All the roads are dark colored and it can’t be changed. That’s just a few things I’ve noticed. So my biggest question is..... what do you guys think of the new Tomtom’s and have you heard if they there going to make some improvements.

Thank you for your time
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,199
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Newer releases certainly have been dummied down over what prevailed with older models. Improvements?? Other than WiFi in the newest models, I don't see much in the near future. Others may have differing opinions.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,744
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
I presume you are not running with Night colours. Menu > bottom RH icon, if tapped on the half moon it should have a diagonal line through it.
Maybe you could use a different base colour. Menu > Settings > Appearance > Display > Theme color.
Two below that is Brightness with Day and Night settings.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
96
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
I presume you are not running with Night colours. Menu > bottom RH icon, if tapped on the half moon it should have a diagonal line through it.
Maybe you could use a different base colour. Menu > Settings > Appearance > Display > Theme color.
Two below that is Brightness with Day and Night settings.
Yeah it’s in day color. I tried the theme color but it didn’t change the color of the roads. Do you have the same unit? Is your display show the roads black? Just curious.
Thank you for your response
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,744
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Out of the box.
I changed very few of my Settings from Default,

Take a picture of yours and post it here, maybe one of us will notice something.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
96
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
Out of the box.
I changed very few of my Settings from Default,

Take a picture of yours and post it here, maybe one of us will notice something.
Thank you very much
I figured out how yours looks like that 2D and 3D if you push your compass it will switch between the two. On mine in the 3D mode the roads are a real dark grey and freeways and state roads are black. At least I think that’s how yours looks different than mine.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,744
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Screen 05-04-18 at 08.19 AM.JPG
In 3D mine are all black, even the Interstates.
When you program a route, the suggested route pipe will be blue (default colour).
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
96
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
View attachment 4929 In 3D mine are all black, even the Interstates.
When you program a route, the suggested route pipe will be blue (default colour).
We’ll at least I know now that it’s normal. I still like it though I just hope TomTom makes some decent improvements on it.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,744
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Just to be sure, you did download and install the TomTom MyDrive App on your cell phone.
It is the Data plan from your cell phone that provides the Live Traffic connection and is also used for phone calls.
If set up right you can have text message read out while driving, also Whatsapp.
If you have questions to that someone else will have to answer as I, except for original testing haven't used it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
96
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
Just to be sure, you did download and install the TomTom MyDrive App on your cell phone.
It is the Data plan from your cell phone that provides the Live Traffic connection and is also used for phone calls.
If set up right you can have text message read out while driving, also Whatsapp.
If you have questions to that someone else will have to answer as I, except for original testing haven't used it.
Ok thank you
I have the app on my phone however it’s a iPhone X and I’ve been kinda hearing that the app is not compatible at this time
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Since he has a 620, he can just as easily set up the phone as a WiFi hot spot and have the 620 get its traffic that way -- providing he doesn't have to pay any extra for using his phone as a hot spot. No difference in how much data it will use.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
96
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
Since he has a 620, he can just as easily set up the phone as a WiFi hot spot and have the 620 get its traffic that way -- providing he doesn't have to pay any extra for using his phone as a hot spot. No difference in how much data it will use.
Yeah that’s how I’ve been doing it and it works very well.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,744
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Yes, to do either BT or WiFi, a data plan is needed.
For the OP:
The difference is that with the BT app, you can get around tethering fees, if your plan requires one. If there's no tethering fee, then you can go with BT or WiFi as it suits you since the cost will be the same. In fact, some have said that battery use is better with the WiFi solution.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
96
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
Yes, to do either BT or WiFi, a data plan is needed.
For the OP:
The difference is that with the BT app, you can get around tethering fees, if your plan requires one. If there's no tethering fee, then you can go with BT or WiFi as it suits you since the cost will be the same. In fact, some have said that battery use is better with the WiFi solution.
So would I ask my cell provider about tethering fees?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,426
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
That's correct. If there's an additional fee on top of your data plan, give the TomTom app a try on your phone first. If there's no additional fee, might as well do it the simple way and set your phone up as a WiFi hot spot. I know that in times past, Apple has warned about heat when in hot spot mode, but the small amount of data that will be involved keeps that from being an issue, even with the older phones.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
96
Location
Wisconsin USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
TomTom go 2535 live and via 1605 TM
That's correct. If there's an additional fee on top of your data plan, give the TomTom app a try on your phone first. If there's no additional fee, might as well do it the simple way and set your phone up as a WiFi hot spot. I know that in times past, Apple has warned about heat when in hot spot mode, but the small amount of data that will be involved keeps that from being an issue, even with the older phones.
Ok thank you for your help. This site is amazing
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 8, 2011
Messages
12
Location
Sydney, Nova Scotia
TomTom Model(s)
XL350 TM GO 620 with WiFi
I just got my GO 620 the other day, and I noticed that when I was in a shopping centre parking lot, the parking slot dividing lines showed up as green. the persisted even as i zoomed out a couple of levels.

Phil
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top