Tom Tom through Airport Xray and metal detectors

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Juan, Apr 10, 2010.

  1. Juan

    Juan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can the data in my Tom Tom GPS be damaged by airport xray machines or metal detectors.
    A Go 720 with 2 GIG SD card.
    I have heard that the metal detctor can damage data but the Xray is OK.
    Is this right?
     
    Juan, Apr 10, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Juan

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,912
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    There are many posts here and elsewhere from people using their gps units on planes so I would presume there will be no problems ....

    If you DO plan to turn it on:
    1. Check with the flight attendants first as not all airlines allow it
    2. You probably won't get a gps signal unless you have a window seat
     
    dhn, Apr 10, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Juan

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,701
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I've been through both many times with my TomTom and Garmin hand-held, and never had a problem. Then again, I've never gone through the x-ray with it.

    Uh .. what I meant. My GPS units have never had a problem.

    I never went through the x-ray. Bad idea. And the TSA folks have zero sense of humor.

    I've had lots of problems, mostly related to jet lag from flying across the Pacific in the wrong direction. Even my TomTom knows better than to do that.:p

    Your electronics will be just fine.
     
    canderson, Apr 11, 2010
    #3
  4. Juan

    Juan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks , I was not sure about what it might do to an SD memory card .
    No I don't want to turn it on in the plane I just want it to arrive undamaged with all the planning data intact .
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2010
    Juan, Apr 11, 2010
    #4
  5. Juan

    tukatz

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Washington State
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 920
    No worries. I've taken mine on both domestic and international flights. I always take mine in my carry-on bag, same as my laptop. No harm to either. I would never leave anything of value in checked luggage. The vast majority of people who might handle you bag are fine and honest folks, but there have been stories of thefts.
     
    tukatz, Apr 11, 2010
    #5
  6. Juan

    Juan

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    With only 7 kilos of allowed cabin luggage I will just scrape in under weight.
    I will take you advice and not leave anything valuable in my checked luggage as far as electronics goes.
    We are not even taking real good clothing either as there is no formal nights on this trip .
     
    Juan, Apr 13, 2010
    #6
  7. Juan

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,701
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Sounds like a cruise to me! The x-ray of your personal carry-on at the gangway won't bother your SD card or electronics, either. I can't tell you how many times I've run my GPS and cameras through Celebrity's equipment, and never a burp.
     
    canderson, Apr 13, 2010
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.