Tom Tom GO DISCOVER


Joined
Aug 11, 2022
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/es.png" alt="Spain" /> Spain
My device won´t turn on/off with the ignition, only manually with the on/off button. Can this be changed please?
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,652
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Be sure that in "Settings" / "Battery settings" that you have selected the slider for "Sleep automatically when disconnected from power".

Of course, this assumes that your device is plugged into a 'switched' outlet - one that goes dead when the ignition is turned off. Some vehicles have only 'unswitched' outlets (always powered), some have only 'switched' outlets, and some, like my wife's vehicle, has one of each, clearly marked on the caps.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2022
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/es.png" alt="Spain" /> Spain
Be sure that in "Settings" / "Battery settings" that you have selected the slider for "Sleep automatically when disconnected from power".

Of course, this assumes that your device is plugged into a 'switched' outlet - one that goes dead when the ignition is turned off. Some vehicles have only 'unswitched' outlets (always powered), some have only 'switched' outlets, and some, like my wife's vehicle, has one of each, clearly marked on the caps.
Unfortunately there is no battery settings tally. I will start again from the beginning, with the booklet and see where I get. Thank you for your suggestions anyway.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,652
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
If you will supply the first two characters of your device's serial number, I'll see if I can get a matching manual in hand to walk through the process.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2022
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/es.png" alt="Spain" /> Spain
If you will supply the first two characters of your device's serial number, I'll see if I can get a matching manual in hand to walk through the process.
My devices number is….YC 1192V02695. Thank you for all your help.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,652
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Again I should ask - you ARE using a switched outlet for your unit, aren't you? Some vehicles have switched power at the outlets, some unswitched (always live) and some have one of each. If the outlet you are using doesn't shut down with the ignition, your device has no way to know that the ignition has been turned off.

OK. I see now. You have a go Discover/Expert 7" with one of the new GPS chips.
The manual is a poor 13 page overview, so I'll have to use screen shots instead.

OK - again. I now have a 7" Discover sitting right in front of me, also a YC serial number. Please check again. Go to Settings/System.


Screenshot_20220813-165308.png


Screenshot_20220813-165315.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: dhn
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top