tom tom 710 basic data

Hi All, Im new to sat nav, have one of the above ,came to me s/h.
It appears? to work fine tho it didnt want to charge the battery, It had been in a damp place for some time so i dismantled it ( I hardware service laptops)
cleaned all connections ,reassembled it and it works fine. tho the battery indicator doesnt show up any more but now seems to be charging itself. Howdo I access the data on the hard drive? where presumably all the operating system lies?
Would a format and reinstall sort it? Where do I get the software to do this and or what cables , docking units/ and computer is needed?
Any suggestions welcome. I use the uk map card.
nice new toy!!
Ted
in Dorset UK.

With the 710 all the data is stored on the SD card so pop that in to a card reader and use Windows Explorer to make a full copy of the cards entire contents.

There is no hard drive in the 510/ 710 models only the 910 device from the x10 model range was supplied with an internal 20GB hard drive.

By Battery Indicator do you mean the green LED or the on screen icon? I would start by pressing the reset button which is next to the electrical connector in the base of the device, use a thin paperclip or a pin to depress the reset switch, don't worry about loss of settings etc as resetting the unit just forces it to restart from scratch - Mike

Welcome to TTF.

You can access the contents of the unit by connecting it to the computer and using Explorer.

The software interface between your unit and TomTom servers is via TomTom Home. A copy can be downloaded from here:
How to install HOME

To connect the 710 to the computer requires the special "Shoe" to USB addaptor that will have been supplied with the unit when new.
If this is missing use a card reader as it will do just the same job - Mike

Thanks everyone for your help.
Will look at the card in a card reader.