Tim Hortons - Canada

Discussion in 'Restuarants & Food Related' started by digital-flex, Mar 31, 2007.

  1. digital-flex

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    Can this be downloaded into map v675 on a TomTom Rider 2?

    Not entirely sure how you do this either, but one thing for sure, I NEED this one in my unit.... ;)

    Cheers
     
    rcacs, Jan 16, 2008
    #41
    1. Advertisements

  2. digital-flex

    flyer1024

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    one
    sure can. just copy the unzipped file into the map folder.

    it will then show up as one of the poi lists.
     
    flyer1024, Jan 16, 2008
    #42
    1. Advertisements

  3. digital-flex

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    Although I am not entirely computer daft, I wouldnt mind if someone would fully explain the process.

    Cheers!
     
    rcacs, Jan 17, 2008
    #43
  4. digital-flex

    flyer1024

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    one
    The file is an .ov2 file and needs to be copied into the map folder,

    then when you want to find a tims, you go through the normal poi process...navigate to a poi, poi near you, then search...type tim and click ok. then the nearest tims will show up, unless of course there are none near you which would be almost impossible....:)

    because it is a user made collection, it will not show up unless you do the search. sometimes, after doing an initial search on my one , the tims icon is there the next time I look making it easier, but it generally gets overwritten after a few other searches for other businesses..
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2008
    flyer1024, Jan 17, 2008
    #44
  5. digital-flex

    rcacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Morden, Manitoba, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    So I can just drag the file into the map folder?...its that simple?

    cheers
     
    rcacs, Jan 19, 2008
    #45
  6. digital-flex

    kwguy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kitchener-Waterloo
    I have just joined as I was looking for Tim Horton POIs. I am a little confused though on which POI I should use so it is most accurate as of today.

    Is it digital-flex's file from Nov. 19, 2007 or is it the one from gps-data-team.com?

    Thank you
     
    kwguy, Jan 26, 2008
    #46
  7. digital-flex

    flyer1024

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    one
    I use the one from this thread which for the most part in my area of Nova Scotia is pretty accurate. A few are off, but usually within visual contact of the Tim's.

    There is one though in a graveyard in Truro, Nova Scotia. Guess the chaps there like coffee too! :) :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2008
    flyer1024, Jan 26, 2008
    #47
  8. digital-flex

    exelsis

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Tim Hortons poi (203kb) downloaded 2 weeks ago and it has 2546 items on it (I suppose this is equal to the number of locations). The 'newer' Tim Hortons poi (by DF) has file size of 196kb but have more items on it (2617) which make me believe that this has more Timmys locations. As to why the file size is smaller, I think somebody might have an explanation.
     
    exelsis, Jan 26, 2008
    #48
  9. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Perhaps the description has more text to it?


    I have a spreadsheet of the Tim Horton locations as of Jan 07.
    The file includes Canada(2711) and US(336) for the total of 3047.

    Im having trouble geocoding a handful of Canada addresses if anyone could help, please PM me.
     
    Pedro2NR, Jan 29, 2008
    #49
  10. digital-flex

    surge

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Which ones do you need geo-coding for? Perhaps there are people in the forum that reside in those areas and could get the coordinates for you.
     
    surge, Feb 5, 2008
    #50
  11. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    The people here have contacted me and helped me out. Thank you to those who helped me out. I have just to organize the data and sort it out.
     
    Pedro2NR, Feb 6, 2008
    #51
  12. digital-flex

    unpltd

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    ONT.
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    Looking forward to an update!


    Let me know if I can help in the Brampton/Mississauga area
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2008
    unpltd, Feb 6, 2008
    #52
  13. digital-flex

    Johntom

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Other Locations

    Where is the map folder that this file needs to be copied to??? I am new at this
     
    Johntom, Mar 10, 2008
    #53
  14. digital-flex

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    On your unit. The folder should say North America (or, perhaps, USA & Canada). Anyway, that's where the .ov2 and the .bmp files go.
     
    dhn, Mar 10, 2008
    #54
  15. digital-flex

    Rocker-Mtl

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    Many Thanks for this poi ! my favorite :D
     
    Rocker-Mtl, Mar 10, 2008
    #55
  16. digital-flex

    georges99

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Candiac/Montreal, CDN
    Hi,

    Please could you explain to me how to repair a POI that is not located correctly.

    I got the Tim Horton's restaurants from POIfriend.com and the new one in Candiac, qc, canada is completely wrong. 2 or 3 miles in the wrong direction.

    How can I adjust a POI that was made by someone else ?


    George
     
    georges99, Apr 4, 2008
    #56
  17. digital-flex

    georges99

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Candiac/Montreal, CDN
    Is it possible to relocate POI that I downloaded from other source than Tomtom directly on the Tomtom Go ?

    George
     
    georges99, Apr 4, 2008
    #57
  18. digital-flex

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520

    Just put the .ov2 file in your map folder (and associated .bmp file if there is one).
     
    dhn, Apr 4, 2008
    #58
  19. digital-flex

    georges99

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Candiac/Montreal, CDN
    Hi and thank you for the fast reply.

    What am asking is, I downloaded POI for Tim Horton's, and the one in my neighborhood is completely off. It is on 2 to 3 miles away from the good location.

    My question is this, is there a software that I could change the info's about this location, and save it to my TH's file ?


    Thanks again,
    George
     
    georges99, Apr 4, 2008
    #59
  20. digital-flex

    Continental Drifter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary,Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go920
    Hi George;

    I use TYRE (http://www.janboersma.nl/gett/index.php) as both my tool for creating Itineraries and for managing my POI's.

    Check out Birdmans site (http://home.comcast.net/~spheasant1/Google_POI.html) for an excellent tutorial on creating POI's with Tyre as well as a bunch of other great info.

    I also downloaded the Tim Horton's POI's a while ago and found some errors. With Tyre (which hooks into Google Maps) I was able to move the POI's by clicking and dragging them onscreen. Putting google maps into 'Hybrid' mode, I could actually see the building which was Tim Hortons and placed my POI at the nearest exit from the road. Tyre is VERY easy to use and it's free.

    I like to have things accurate so I'm in the process of correcting all the Tim Horton POI's in my area (Calgary). I contacted Tim Horton's head office and got an updated list of all the Tim Horton's in Calgary. While the Tim Horton's file that Digital-Flex posted here has about 50 locations in Calgary, the list I got has over 80 locations. Over the last couple of weeks I've been QAing? the locations, phoning locations to ask where they are and driving to many of them to check the accuracy. I've also added into the address if they are in an Esso, a theatre, Rona, university or Airport (no point in driving to one that's inside the airport).

    I will post the OV2 file here soon and hope that Digital-Flex or Pedro2NR will incorporate it into the main file.

    I plan on updating this file every 6 - 12 months. Tim Horton's has asked me to give them a copy of the file also, so maybe they are finally seeing the marketing value of having an accurate POI list of their locations.

    Cheers
    Mike
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2008
    Continental Drifter, Apr 6, 2008
    #60
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.