"This functionality is not yet supported for your combination of your navigation...."

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by dtw209, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. dtw209

    dtw209

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Everyone
    I have a new XXL540 TM WTE.
    I tried to connect to my device using the HOME "Operate My Device". I also tried to send trip directions using the Google Send to GPS option. In both cases I got the "famous" error:
    "This functionality is not yet supported for your combination of your navigation device, devices application version and your computers operating system"

    I tried this on two different desktops.
    One running Win 7 Professional 64-bit TomTom Home Ver. 2.8 and one Win XP TomTom Home Ver. 2.7.
    I got the same error on both.
    Any ideas anyone?
    Thanks
    David
     
    dtw209, Dec 22, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dtw209

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    A file should be offered to get downloaded for the emulator to function properly. Is it not doing that?
     
    dhn, Dec 22, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dtw209

    dtw209

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the prompt reply

    You mean HOME should offered to download the emulator?
     
    dtw209, Dec 22, 2010
    #3
  4. dtw209

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Did for me.........
     
    dhn, Dec 22, 2010
    #4
  5. dtw209

    dtw209

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, HOME didn't offer to download any emulator...
     
    dtw209, Dec 22, 2010
    #5
  6. dtw209

    mbd114

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sam error

    I'm getting the same error. I have an XXL 540TM WTE unit that I just received on Dec 23rd. I've done the updates through HOME and event updated HOME to v 2.8. Whenever I try to use the "Operate my XXL" in HOME, I get the "functionality not yet supported" error.

    OS: Windows 7 64bit
    Unit: XXL 540TM WTE
    HOME Ver: 2.8
    App ver: 9.056.552648.2
     
    mbd114, Dec 24, 2010
    #6
  7. dtw209

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You should be offered a file to download for the emulator to function.
     
    dhn, Dec 24, 2010
    #7
  8. dtw209

    mbd114

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I first connected the device, HOME did a software update for the GPS itself (I had to manually do the HOME update). But after that, I have never been prompted to download any emulator.
     
    mbd114, Dec 24, 2010
    #8
  9. dtw209

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    That functionality may show up all of a sudden one day when you open Home. Give it a few days..........
     
    dhn, Dec 24, 2010
    #9
  10. dtw209

    dtw209

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    mbd114
    I a complaint to TomTom about this issue. I didn't get any response yet . I suggest that you complaint to TomTom too so maybe they will do something about this
    Here is a link
    Support Home Page
    click on "Email us"
    Thanks
     
    dtw209, Dec 27, 2010
    #10
  11. dtw209

    ehunter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacifica by San Francisco
    TomTom Model(s):
    possibly a XXL 540TM
    I guess I should be lumped into this group too. I have the 540TM but not the WTE and I never had a file download offer for the Operate my XXL. I will write to complain too.
     
    ehunter, Dec 27, 2010
    #11
  12. dtw209

    TomTom_User_101

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Operate my XXL doesn't work

    Having same issues as noted in this post. Tried this on 2 different PC, Vista 32 and 64. Same problem in both cases. I've emailed Tomtom Tech support with no response.
     
    TomTom_User_101, Dec 28, 2010
    #12
  13. dtw209

    TomTom XXL 540S

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine as well

    Received mine with the Amazon "special offer" with audio books - free on 12/24/10.

    Cannot operate my XL AND Audio books says my unit is compatable but still haven't figured out how to download and listen to a book.
     
    TomTom XXL 540S, Dec 29, 2010
    #13
  14. dtw209

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The 540 model does not have the capability to play audio books as it has neither a jukebox function (for playing mp3s) nor a document reader. That is my understanding.
     
    dhn, Dec 29, 2010
    #14
  15. dtw209

    dtw209

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Someone Help!!!

    After following TomTom's support advice to solve the "This functionality is not yet supported for your combination" issue, now my XXL540 doesn't start the application. When I turn it on it is stuck on the TomTom logo and that's it.
    Ideas?
    BTW, tried to contact customer support on the phone several times for hours but no luck.
     
    dtw209, Dec 29, 2010
    #15
  16. dtw209

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Have you made an Explorer, not Home backup?

    Are you disconnecting the unit PROPERLY from Home using the Device Disconnect icon?

    plan A:
    Hod the power button for about 10 seconds and see if that helps.

    plan B:
    If A failed, use Explorer to delete the mapsettings.cfg file in your specific map folder and remove the unit properly from the computer using the Hardware Disconnect icon. Restart.

    plan c:
    Make the Explorer backup. Delete all the loose files in the root of the unit. NO folders or their contents. Start Home. Accept & install the application offered. Disconnect from Home properly.

    plan D:
    Explorer backup. format the unit. Don't use quickformat. Restore the backup.
     
    dhn, Dec 29, 2010
    #16
  17. dtw209

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    App 9.056 was never a proper app for the XXL. It should have been on the XL only.

    Follow the steps below do downgrade to app 9.053, and Operate my XXL will work.

    http://www.tomtom.com/9091

    I wonder if the improper app is the reason for all the XXL devices bricking?
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
    mvl, Jan 1, 2011
    #17
  18. dtw209

    Lyric

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    "operate my xxl" shows the functionality is not supported

    Help. Just got this unit. played with the gps first. Then loaded the HOME upon connecting the unit to the computer.
    I cannot get the Operate my xxl to work. I think I backed up my unit with my explorer. Then I deleted the mapsettings.cfg.
    On one forum I tried the PlanA then PlanB. on Plan C was deleting some loose folders ... This is going over my head! HELP!
     
    Lyric, Jan 1, 2011
    #18
  19. dtw209

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,015
    Likes Received:
    444
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Tap the satellite bars on your unit. The next screen shows the version number of the application installed. Can you report back what it says (such as 9.053).
     
    dhn, Jan 1, 2011
    #19
  20. dtw209

    patri

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Same issue here with a recently bought 540TM
    if I follow this, TomtomHome is trying to install 8.351 on my unit and it does not even restart. I had to reload from a previous Backup and I am at least back on 9.056 which is mostly functional.
    Is there a way to get 9.053 directly via download and install it myself without having to go thru TomtomHome? The integrated update process is not working here

    tia, pat
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
    patri, Jan 2, 2011
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
There are no similar threads yet.
Loading...