Third Party App To Record Max Speed

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by ajsasr, Dec 11, 2007.

  1. ajsasr

    ajsasr

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northern Alabama
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    Does anyone know of an app I can install that would capture and store the max speed recorded on the unit? I'd like to know when "others" are driving my car how fast they are going.

    Thanks.
     
    ajsasr, Dec 11, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ajsasr

    sparky672

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE 3rd Edition
    Search for Tripmaster. Can start automatically, run in background, and log stuff. Until you quit, it shows max speed for the session.
     
    sparky672, Dec 11, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ajsasr

    runarg

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    TomTom Model(s):
    iPhone / Android / GO1015
    But it's only working properly for V6 software
     
    runarg, Dec 18, 2007
    #3
  4. ajsasr

    sparky672

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE 3rd Edition
    Who said that?

    It works on my version 7.162
     
    sparky672, Dec 18, 2007
    #4
  5. ajsasr

    ptras09

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Blacksburg, VA / Shrewsbury, NJ
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    Been wanting something that does this too. I know the Magellen units do it. Or maybe it was the Garmin...
     
    ptras09, Dec 18, 2007
    #5
  6. ajsasr

    Boyd

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    New Jersey
    TomTom Model(s):
    920T
    The Garmin units have a screen with max speed and other information which is accumulated. My experience is that it's not very accurate though because of the bogus data which is sometimes logged when satellite reception is bad. I never really paid attention to it on my Nuvi, but on my StreetPilot 2620 the max speed was usually several hundred miles per hour.

    Maybe TomTom software does a better job though?
     
    Boyd, Dec 19, 2007
    #6
  7. ajsasr

    runarg

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Drammen, Norway
    TomTom Model(s):
    iPhone / Android / GO1015
    I said that:) And hundreds of other users on different European forums, including the developer of TripMaster. It's a definition if it's working. What I said in my post was that it's not working properly!
    It's very slow compared to running on V6, the screen hangs for several seconds from time to time. But the most important is that the logging is wrong! It skips logging points from time to time, and it also skips the distance so the distance gets wrong! If you have been able to get this working you are the only one that I have heard about.
     
    runarg, Dec 19, 2007
    #7
  8. ajsasr

    sparky672

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE 3rd Edition
    If you say so. :rolleyes: Perhaps explaining that in the first place would have been more educational than just saying, "it's only working properly for V6 software".

    When I said it "works" on 7.162, I simply meant that it's operational. Without thorough testing and some online research, how could I know that it has these various quirks you mentioned?

    Thank-you for pointing out all its flaws.
     
    sparky672, Dec 19, 2007
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.