Support Help to Spain

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by TonyHen, May 19, 2012.

  1. TonyHen

    TonyHen

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spain but not Spanish
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE
    I live in Spain and have owned a ONE version for three years with Iberia map (Spain and Portugal) and have happily used for travelling in Spain. I am flying to Italy for a holiday and decided to take TOMTOM for the hire car there.
    It took 45 mins to download Italy which is fine and I did not disconnect the TOMTOM until Done message
    When I go to Manage my Navigation Device it says there are two maps installed, Iberia and Italy.
    However when I access the actual Tom Tom device only Iberia is still installed
    I reported this and have just had an automated message from TOMTOM UK, despite three follow up messages.
    Whenever I reboot my computer I now get a web link to TOMTOM account even though device is not attached. UGH. How do I stop that?
    I have logged on and checked for updates and there are none.
    This time tomorrow I will be on the plane to Italy
    The only thing that has worked without a problem is TOMTOM extracting £39.95 from my bank
    Any ideas please?
    I am 71 and not a computer wizard but have built two web sites this year so am not that stupid. Or at least thought I wasn't.
    Thanks
    Tony
     
    TonyHen, May 19, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. TonyHen

    TonyHen

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spain but not Spanish
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE
    Oh yes and I have tried to call UK support but cannot call them from Spain as it is Premium line only available in the UK
    Having read on the Internet how TomTom as a company hides I can now understand what everyone is saying
    Perhaps they could provide an add on to their GPS system for us to find them to communicate?
    Yes and still no email response other than call a number I cannot call
    And yes TomTom Home still insists Italy is on my device
    Please scrub this question and substitute 'How to you get a refund when they haven't provided a service?' A battle ahead no doubt
    Disgruntled and off soon. Hope I don't get lost in Italy. Bless them!!
    Tony
     
    TonyHen, May 19, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. TonyHen

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,903
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Are you quite sure about this? On your unit, you will need to navigate to the option called "Switch map" or "Manage map" (I forget which it's called on the ONE). Are you seeing only the original Iberia map there, and not the Italy map, or are you successfully finding that page on your unit?
     
    canderson, May 19, 2012
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.