Stuck in The Canaries!

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by FourSeasons, Dec 29, 2019.

  1. FourSeasons

    FourSeasons

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    one xl
    My one xl unit always comes on in The Canary Islands, which is strange as I have never been there. Can't get it to go anywhere else! Any thoughts?!
     
    FourSeasons, Dec 29, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. FourSeasons

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,044
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Have you ever made a backup of your unit's contents? Hopefully manually?
     
    dhn, Dec 29, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. FourSeasons

    FourSeasons

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    one xl
    No !!
     
    FourSeasons, Dec 29, 2019
    #3
  4. FourSeasons

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,952
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    OK. Let's back up, then. Sounds like your 'current map' is set incorrectly, or your device has no clue where you are. Is it just bringing up the map of the Canary Islands, or does it actually show your position there???

    Please try to 'change map' as follows:
    Change preferences
    Right arrow(s)
    Switch map
    Select an appropriate map (perhaps UK& ROI or ...)
     
    canderson, Dec 29, 2019
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.