Start 25 - Memory

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by jibjobk, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. jibjobk

    jibjobk

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello

    I have a start 25 and it was advertised as having 4gb internal memory but when I go to manage my account on the website it displays that the device only has like 1.7 gb total space. Can anyone help me.

    Thanks
    Jib
     
    jibjobk, Oct 1, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jibjobk

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,002
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    It does indeed have 4GB internal storage. I'll remove your other post.
     
    dhn, Oct 2, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jibjobk

    jibjobk

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.
    Could you tell me why it only would show as having 1.7gb in total.
     
    jibjobk, Oct 2, 2011
    #3
  4. jibjobk

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Can you give a few more clues as to where exactly you are seeing these memory figures?

    Is it on one of the browser windows that are opened up by the MyTomTom utility program?

    If I click on the green box at the top right and select "Account details" it goes to a "MyTomTom account" page, with details of my name and email address etc. but there is no mention of the device specification there.

    The same happens if I just log in from www.tomtom.com

    If you go to "Add community content" in MYTomTom, it does show you the amount of FREE space available.
     
    Andy_P, Oct 3, 2011
    #4
  5. jibjobk

    jibjobk

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello

    If you click on the mytomtom section in green, when your device is connected and click on manage content in the drop down option, it should dispaly the relevant data. I have included an attachement of what I see. Should they all have 4gb of data or have I been fobbed off.
     

    Attached Files:

    jibjobk, Oct 3, 2011
    #5
  6. jibjobk

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    The only model for sale on the UK website is a "start 25 Europe". That model would have 4GB because of the size of the Europe map.

    It appears from your post that you have a UK/ROI map only, which makes me think you have a "Start 25 Regional" model, which hasn't been advertised on the UK website.

    Regional models would probably have 2GB memory (like your computer reports) as the larger size would not have been needed/
     
    mvl, Oct 3, 2011
    #6
  7. jibjobk

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Interesting...

    There's a Start 20 UK & Ireland on the TT website (with a 4.3" screen), but not a UK Start 25.

    However, if you Google for "Start 25 UK & Ireland", you get plenty of results!

    Maplin are one big retailer that has them.

    "Regional" versions always tend to have 2GB memory.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
    Andy_P, Oct 4, 2011
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.