spoken street names on one xl-s

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Buddy_Shivley, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. Buddy_Shivley

    Buddy_Shivley

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a new TomTom one xl-s. I thought it was supposed say aloud the street names but it doesn't.

    My TomTom shows to have 977.9 MB with 18.8 MB free. I found a place to download a computer voice - Dave - that is supposed to read the street names, but it is 45.2MB's in size. I apparently don't have room for it on my device and as the Maps take up 858.6 MB, there is nothing i can delete to make room for the Dave voice.

    Can anybody help?
     
    Buddy_Shivley, Jan 19, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Buddy_Shivley

    EricL

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL*S
    There is a computer voice that comes installed on the device. I forget the exact name but it's a woman. On the device where you change the voice, you will see 'computer' next to the name of the computer voice.
     
    EricL, Jan 19, 2008
    #2
    1 person likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Buddy_Shivley

    Buddy_Shivley

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it. Thank you Eric. I guess this means the $10 i spent on the Dennis Hopper voice is wasted.
     
    Buddy_Shivley, Jan 19, 2008
    #3
  4. Buddy_Shivley

    Lobo777

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XLS
    I know he already found it but for future reference her name is Susan.
     
    Lobo777, Jan 20, 2008
    #4
  5. Buddy_Shivley

    irvinf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL*S VIA1605TM
    Add a sd memory card and you can add more computer voices.
    Now four-variety.
     
    irvinf, Jan 20, 2008
    #5
  6. Buddy_Shivley

    EricL

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL*S
    does TOMTOM have proper directions on how to migrate to using a memory card? They don't make mention of it in the XL*S manual.
     
    EricL, Jan 20, 2008
    #6
  7. Buddy_Shivley

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    Copy the entire contents of the internal memory of the One XL-S to the memory card and you're good to go. Use a SD card reader to copy the files to the SD, if you can, as it is generally faster than copying to it via the One XL-S.

    More detailed instructions here:
    https://www.tomtomforums.com/showthread.php?t=868
     
    SShadow, Jan 20, 2008
    #7
  8. Buddy_Shivley

    tdsraleighwood

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC / USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom ONE XLS
    Hello - I too couldn't figure out the text to speech for actual street names on my new XLS until I came across this forum several weeks ago. Seems like it took a reset to actually get the voice of "Susan" to activate and work properly..
    I also would like another choice of voice besides Susan --- but it has to be a "computer voice". IrvinF - Where can one preview and download these voices? You mentioned there are a variety of 4? I can't find anything on TT site other than celebrity and other non-computer voices. Though Dennis H and T+T or even John Cleese would be fun, I'm 'hooked' on the street name announcement..
    Thanks in advance..

    TT XLS
    TT Home: 1.6 (Mac)
     
    tdsraleighwood, Jan 23, 2008
    #8
  9. Buddy_Shivley

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    In TomTom Home, there is a specific section for Computer Voices in the Add stuff to your GPS...
     
    SShadow, Jan 23, 2008
    #9
  10. Buddy_Shivley

    irvinf

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL*S VIA1605TM
    Sorry for poor explanation-should leave it to others. SSHADOW stated better than I. When connected to HOME2, you can view,select and install on your TT.
    Have four-2male and 2female.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2008
    irvinf, Jan 23, 2008
    #10
  11. Buddy_Shivley

    Gilbert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Montr?al, QC
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE XL-S
    I was also stuck with a similar problem and even tech support at TT did not steer me right... When in Tomtom Home, on the first screen, you have the first option to add maps, Traffic, Voices etc., choose this option. You are then presented with a first screen: maps, traffic, voices (not that one) and an arrow to a second screen where, on the second row, after gaz price, is "computer voices" which is the right one you want to use. You will be presented with choices in alphabetical order of languages. Don't choose a different language voice than the operating language choice you intend to use. When I tried Susan, American English voice in French, I was unhappy with the result! Your TT will not crash but what you'll hear is not what you expect.

    I had assumed a French voice came preinstalled on my XL-S which was not the case. Tech support recommended I delete the whole Loquendo directory to make room for installing any additional voice. It was the case when I went this route. I don't know how it would install if you don't have the needed space available? Just make sure you backup before removing anything!...
     
    Gilbert, Jan 24, 2008
    #11
  12. Buddy_Shivley

    Regular Guy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fayetteville, NC
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    Cleared that up

    Thanks for the question and the answers. I was wondering the same thing when I bought this.
     
    Regular Guy, May 18, 2008
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.