SOS - My TT XL IQ Routes keeps rebooting by itself

Hi there, I am a newbie here. I recently bought two TT XL IQ ROUTES. The first one I bought was working fine for three weeks and then one day it simply refused to power up at all - only the green light was on when plugged in. Any Ideas what this may be?
However I bought another one - same model. It again did fine for couple a months when one day it simply decided it has to start relooping - for no reason or at least I think so. Eversince (more then 10 days now) I've been trying to get it going. It is out of warranty so I am not sending it back to TT as it would cost a fortune after I spent already ?180 on satnavs. So please help!!!
I tried full format, both in Fat and Fat32 Each time everything was going fine until the moment to set up the time format. Then it starts rebooting all on itself. I expect someone to tell me to delete Mapsettings.cfg or whatever is called , from my Map folder. The thing is - there is no such file in there!!! Also I noticed that when I try to operate the device via TThome it works fine and gets me up to the map screen but then it says NO MAP FOUND, but well at least it does not reloop. However I also noticed that using TT home to opertae my device changes the bootloader version the linux version and the Ramdisk version of my TT - Is this normal.?
I am so confused! SOS!!!

Are you positive you didn't try to perform a map update right before all of this started - and perhaps even had problems completing the update? It has all the classic symptoms...