SLOW Performance!!

TomTom Model(s)
Navigator 6 on Treo 700p
Hello All. this is my first post on the forum and I can use some help. I have been using Tomtom for Nav 2005 for palm Treo 700p succesfuuly for some time now. I just upgraded to Navigator 6 (compatible with 700P). It installed just fine. I installed the recommended (very large) USA and Canada map on a 2 gig sd card. I connected up to the sats no problem. When I planned a short 20 mile trip, it took at least 15 minutes to calculate the route (unacceptable) and once on the move, the turns etc lagged WAY behind my actual position making this map file unusable..
Is this because the map file is 1 gig? I since installed smaller maps and that greatly improved performance. STill not a as good as TT Nav 2005 but acceptable (so far.) I like the seamless maps (now that I'm retired I'll be on the road), but if I can't improve performance I will probably go back to TT Nav 2005. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. Using a Belkin Bluetooth GPS which works fine. Thanks very very much.

sorry toothman. I can't help but I read your post. I don't have a palm. i've customized my ONE and I love it.

I suspect it does have to do with how large that map is. How fast is the SD card you are using? I'm going to try to put the larger North America map on my ONE using a 2g card and am wondering if I'll run into this same issue.

Thanks for getting bck to me franchee. I thought perhaps that as the map loads it uses internal memory (which is limited) and that also slows it down. I also read in another post that hi-speed cards don't make a difference as they are only hi-spped when writing to them (not reading.) I suspect that you'll have no problems with the "One" as it is a dedicated device. I'll wait until I hear from more Palm (Treo) users before I make the switch back to Navigator 2005.

I thought perhaps that as the map loads it uses internal memory (which is limited) and that also slows it down.