SIM Card Invalid

I have a One XL and I get a message "SIM Card Invalid". What does this mean? What do I need to do to fix it? Is this the reason the unit never connects to the server?

I purchased this unit used and I am just learning how to use it.

Thanks for any assistance!

I have a One XL and I get a message "SIM Card Invalid". What does this mean? What do I need to do to fix it? Is this the reason the unit never connects to the server?

I purchased this unit used and I am just learning how to use it.

Thanks for any assistance!
OH my. Tap the satellite bars on the right. Tap the little box with version info. Tell us what software version has been installed on your unit. It sounds as though someone has installed software for another model on it.

Here is the rest of the info:
Device xxxxx xxxxx
App 8.010 (9369/080529) OS: 190943
32 MB RAM (free: 1.9 MB)
GPS v1.21, Boot 5.3030
Map: 'USA_and_Canada' v710.1575
Language: English US

Last edited by a moderator:
Here is the rest of the info:
Device xxxxx xxxxx
App 8.010 (9369/080529) OS: 190943
32 MB RAM (free: 1.9 MB)
GPS v1.21, Boot 5.3030
Map: 'USA_and_Canada' v710.1575
Language: English US
OK - I "wiped out" your device number. You don't want someone else dinking around with that.

The application version is correct for your unit, although it could be updated to 8.014. Your maps are really old ... they date back a couple of years.

Where and under what circumstances did you get that message? After seeing your firmware version, I'm guessing it wasn't your unit that said that, but instead, that you got that message from TomTom Home (the PC application)? Please advise the circumstances under which that message occurs and whether your One is otherwise behaving normally.