Should of left well enough alone--XL340s question

Greetings everyone,

This is my first time here.

I bought FOUR "XL340s" units on Black Friday because the deal was too sweet and wanted to give to relatives for gifts. I picked up one for myself, of course.

Everything was working fine until I hooked it up to my computer! I downloaded the latest version of HOME (i think it's HOME 2) and installed it on Windows 7.

The program told me to back up right away, so being a naive and obedient consumer, I backed it up. I realized that it would take a long time, so I walked away.

I came back a little later, and something went wrong--something timed out. Now all I get is a flashing "X". Used the company support forums to delete all files except the map folder, hooked it up to HOME--it put all of the files back on there and wanted to give me a new map for free, so I let it, but again the thing timed out after about half an hour (or thereabouts). This time the xl340s says "no maps found".

Something happened to the map file itself. It's much smaller in size; it's only 919 MB, when it used to be over 1.6 or so.

Searched for your forums and browsed around. You guys are certainly the subject matter experts!

I thought about just opening another unit (one of the gift units) and copying the map off it and pasting it to mine.......will that work, or do more harm for both units?

Any advice/solutions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

Do you have another PC available to use that isn't running Windows 7 as its known to crash the TT Home application? - Mike

I wouldn't believe everything you read on there to be honest, the easy thing to try is another PC that isn't Windows 7 as I know that quite a few others have reported crashes in TT Home when using Windows 7 but when they try XP or Vista it works fine - Mike

This is something you can try to do if you don't have another PC. - run TomTom Home in compatibility mode It should work. Let us know if it works.