set up used tom tom 500

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by cbcapt, Jul 28, 2016.

  1. cbcapt

    cbcapt

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Tom Tom Go 500 my drive conect
    Hi. I have just purchased a Tom Tom 500 Go My drive connect but cant manage to set anything up .
    How do I get int to settings etc I have I mac which is evidently compatible but cant access anything through that either. Can anyone offer help plwase ???
     
    cbcapt, Jul 28, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cbcapt

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,872
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Unfortunately, TomTom re-used the GO 500 name, so we'd need to know for 100% certain if you have the antique version (ca. 2005) or the new one (ca. 2014). They use entirely different software to interact and update.

    The old unit uses Home. The newer unit uses MyDrive. Easy way to tell which is which:
    New: serial starts with QI, QJ, QV or QX.
    Old: serial starts with M3

    Settings for the device are controlled on the device for both units.
    Will guess for the moment you have the new one. Touch the ... Menu button in lower left of nav screen. Scroll/slide menu right to left (twice). Find Settings (gear icon).
     
    canderson, Jul 28, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.