Screen unresponsive

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by grrlbreaks, Feb 24, 2019.

  1. grrlbreaks

    grrlbreaks

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    hi
    I have an older Start which has worked well for years. Today, it would not respond to touch. I tried a hard reset and no go. When I plug it into the computer, it's recognized, although when it asks whether I want to connect to the computer, I can't 'push' the yes button. I tried doing a 'drum' reset, but all that happens is the start screen appears as usual - not reset.

    Any ideas?

    thanks!
     
    grrlbreaks, Feb 24, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. grrlbreaks

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,875
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Is the battery fully charged on the device?
     
    dhn, Feb 24, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. grrlbreaks

    grrlbreaks

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    hi
    yes, fully charged.
     
    grrlbreaks, Feb 24, 2019
    #3
  4. grrlbreaks

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,875
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Other than trying another drum reset, I can't think of anything. Perhaps others will pop in to assist you.
     
    dhn, Feb 24, 2019
    #4
  5. grrlbreaks

    grrlbreaks

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    hi
    For some reason it won't let me do a drum reset. : ( Thanks for your help, hoping others will come forward.
     
    grrlbreaks, Feb 24, 2019
    #5
  6. grrlbreaks

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Did you try a Factory reset?
     
    Arno, Feb 25, 2019
    #6
  7. grrlbreaks

    grrlbreaks

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start
    hi - if you mean the reset button on the bottom of the unit, yes that was the first thing I tried. If it's something else, could you tell me how to do it?
    thanks.
     
    grrlbreaks, Feb 25, 2019
    #7
  8. grrlbreaks

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Unfortunately for you, it is the pin reset I was referring to.

    Just to make sure, the drum reset dhn mentioned is keeping the power button depressed until the drums are heard.
     
    Arno, Feb 25, 2019
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.