Same map version for dl, two different sizes?

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by Diamond D, May 7, 2010.

  1. Diamond D

    Diamond D

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I finally upgraded to an XL 340S (seems great so far!) made an explorer backup and TT Home backup, then did the updating. The unit has USA, Canada, and Mexico P map, version 835.2419.

    I know the 845 map is out now, and when I attempted to use the "Latest Map Guarantee" today, Home told me one was available (845.2670). Good start! I hit install, and left it alone for a few hours. When I came back, Home was reporting an error, with the message "The internet server had an internal error." Repeated tries get the same error.

    The interesting thing is that when I now go to "Update my device," one of the downloads that is offered is a USA Canada and Mexico map, same exact version (845.2670). Except this one is 1728MB, whereas the one I was getting to via Latest Map Guarantee was showing as 2043MB. Before I download and install anything I want to know what the differences are.

    Is there a known difference between these two maps? Suggestions as to what was causing the "server error"? I appreciate any insight.
     
    Diamond D, May 7, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Diamond D

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The map with the 1728 size is the one you want as the other will not fit your unit.

    TT has server errors frequently, and this is world wide at times. Whenever you see that message, best to try later.
     
    dhn, May 7, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Diamond D

    Diamond D

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks dhn. What accounts for the difference in size though, and why is it offered to me by TomTom Home when I go through the Latest Map Guarantee process if it won't fit?
     
    Diamond D, May 7, 2010
    #3
  4. Diamond D

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Because the Home software is stupid.
     
    dhn, May 7, 2010
    #4
  5. Diamond D

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    The size of the map is loaded into HOME's server database. Tomtom probably published an incorrect map size, which was why the server download kept crashing in the past.

    If the last 4 digits of the map are the same 2670 in Latest Map Guarantee or Update my XL, then it's the identical map. Tomtom probably fixed some index on the server.
     
    mvl, May 11, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.