Rider 2 questions (thinking about eBay purchase)

I'm a Canadian now living and working in southern California, and I'm new to motorcycling. This place is so big and complicated, though, I want a GPS for my street bike. The Garmin Zumo's are too darn expensive, but I'm seeing the odd Rider2 on eBay for decent prices. So I'm thinking about getting one. But I have some questions:

• I've heard about problems with the Tomtom mount. What about a RAM mount?
  • If I go to a RAM (or other) mount, can I still make it charge from the bike's system (e.g. through a ciglighter adapter or straight wires)?
  • I'm planning on doing some long distance rides (google "iron butt"). I'd like to be able to create a track in Google Maps or some other software, and then load it into the GPS. Sometimes, I won't want the Rider to calculate the best way to get between points; I might want it to follow the specific track I give it. Is that possible through other software or what have you?
  • And finally, being from Canada, I'm probably going to ride some there, too, when I take vacations etc. Anyone with any Canadian-specific experience with this unit?

Thanks, everyone!

Welcome to TTF! (especially a fellow Canuck :canada: ).

We have some avid bikers with TT units eager to assist others in this forum. So check back in a relatively short time (like 24 hours if not earlier) and I suspect you will get some good answers!

I have been usin the TT Rider2 for many years now, and maybe I have just been lucky, but never any problems with my Rider.

The TT Rider comes with a RAM mount, there is no issue at all there. Some (many?) have had problems with the actually charging cradle (I have not). They are no longer available from TT, and I dont think they are even trying to sell the new (and disappointing Urban Rider series) in NA.