replacing 720 battery

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by momcat1, Nov 27, 2008.

  1. momcat1

    momcat1

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hudson Valley NY
    I'm not too patient about the hour or less time I get from the battery, and I realize that I could shut off the BT, but I use the handsfree, it's better than a headset, and in NY you need something for that.

    Anyway, does anyone know where I can find 1) instructions for opening the 720 Go, and 2) a site where they've actually bought a replacement battery? I have followed the links posted by others for site, and so far none of them have batteries for 720, just 710.

    Thanks
     
    momcat1, Nov 27, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. momcat1

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,052
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The resident guru on batteries (well, one of them, anyhow) is GAW. Shoot him a pm and see whether he has an answer.
     
    dhn, Nov 27, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. momcat1

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    I have been watching online, and so far I have not seen an aftermarket battery with higher capacity then the undersized stock battery. I got a Lenmar supplemental battery with 2100 mah that works f good on TomToms and other devices like blackberries, etc.

    It is available from Radio Shack for $49.95, but if you Google it (Lenmar PPU2100B), it can be found for $24.95.

    If you get one, let the device be mostly discharged before you plug it in, as the charge rate is faster than the discharge rate, so you waste some of it.

    PS - on your device, I have found the battery savings preference where you shut down or dim (based on app number) the screen between instructions helps a lot. However, this is on open roads and freeways, but in the NY area (other then a few freeways/parkways) - it will probably be giving instructions most of the time.

    Curious as to your use of it there, as in a car - it would normally be plugged in. Mine goes on a bike sometimes, and occasionally gets carried around.
     
    GAW, Nov 27, 2008
    #3
  4. momcat1

    momcat1

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hudson Valley NY
    I do use it in my car, but I can't always plug it in. I only have one power port, and part of the time I need it to recharge my cell phone. Also, if I dim the Go except for instructions, what happens when I get a call or need to make a call on my phone? I'm also using the bluetooth connection for my hands free. I also frequently see road construction on the Go display, but get no vice for that. If I could not see it, I would have no warning. Seems like the road crews around here make up excuses to shut down roads for 10 months of the year!

    I'll search for the part number you gave, but I still have no idea how I would open the Go. Do you know of where I might find that?

    I would have responded earlier but I didn't get an email notification.
     
    momcat1, Dec 1, 2008
    #4
  5. momcat1

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,052
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I think you should be able to find splitters in an electronics store, just like for a phone.

    Plug into cigarette lighter and have two receptacles: one for the phone, the other for the gps unit.
     
    dhn, Dec 1, 2008
    #5
  6. momcat1

    PSJ

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Central, Florida USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 930 Plus Services, Traffic, Fuel prices
    PSJ, Dec 1, 2008
    #6
    1 person likes this.
  7. momcat1

    PSJ

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Central, Florida USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 930 Plus Services, Traffic, Fuel prices


    that's a nice little device there:D

    I'm going to get one....it would be great for powering small devices like cell or mp3 players while at airports or anywhere charging can't be done.

    internet on the cell just kills the battery FAST !

    much better that a pocket full of batterys !




    OK back on topic now:D
     
    PSJ, Dec 1, 2008
    #7
  8. momcat1

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,052
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Thanks Marc, that Radio Shack link shows what I was referring to.
     
    dhn, Dec 1, 2008
    #8
  9. momcat1

    momcat1

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hudson Valley NY
    Yup, I already have one of those, actually a couple of them. But when I tried to plug both the Go and my phone in together, both batteries ran down to nothing and neither one charged well enough to use. So for long trips, I have to switch between charging one at a time and hope I get each one on long enough to make it work out. It was even worse when we travelled in my husband's car. He also only has one port, and I had to give up using both the phone and the Go 3/4 of the way through the trip. Apparently his power port gives out less power than mine!

    Did you ever get into the middle of a major metro where you haven't driven before and have your Go conk out on you? No notice, just shut down completely. Oh, yeah, it was great fun!
     
    momcat1, Dec 1, 2008
    #9
  10. momcat1

    PSJ

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Central, Florida USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 930 Plus Services, Traffic, Fuel prices
    @ GAW

    how long will / would that power a tomtom ( not using power saving options )



    PSJ aka Marc
     
    PSJ, Dec 1, 2008
    #10
  11. momcat1

    RickB

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Near Toronto, Ontario Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 TMWTE & GO720
    I hear ya.

    Another solution to consider is a rechargable USB battery pack like this: http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/proddetail.asp?logon=&langid=EN&sku_id=0926INGFS10076905&catid=24924

    Not the cheapest solution, (the lighter plug adapter makes the most sense) however, I've used mine for so many different things, I can't imagine not having it now. Runs your iPod, TomTom, whatever you want for a VERY long time. It will connect to anything with either a USB jack OR a mini-B jack like my 720.
     
    RickB, Dec 1, 2008
    #11
  12. momcat1

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920

    As usual, BestBuy's price is rather high. Office Depot has them for $39.95.
     
    GAW, Dec 1, 2008
    #12
  13. momcat1

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920

    I have gotten another 3 plus hours without battery saving options - better still with "tune screen off(or dim on 8.3) between instruction" and if not needing bluetooth - turn it off.

    The APC battery seems to have higher capacity, and $39.95 from Office Depot.
     
    GAW, Dec 1, 2008
    #13
  14. momcat1

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920

    Per the other posts - get a splitter - I use one for both devices.

    When the unit is dimmed - you will get the call and you can make one handsfree also - tap the screen.

    Check your speech preference settings - it may not be set to give warnings.

    The part number was for an external battery (or see the APC battery in the other post). There are so far no INTERNAL batteries out there for the x20 and x30 devices. If there eventually are, they may not have much more (if any) capacity - as the newer units like the 720's may be space constrained. You would also void your warranty for nothing at this point.
     
    GAW, Dec 1, 2008
    #14
  15. momcat1

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,981
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Actually, the battery itself is available, but is already set up for a different piece of hardware -- the connectors are not correct for the TT units. They'd require a snip and solder to correct this.

    I don't recall the Sony number (U.S. models use this one) off the top of my head, but if you run a Google search on the first 6 digits and Sony, you'll see the device pop up with some different suffix numbers that indicate alternate terminations for other devices.
     
    canderson, Dec 3, 2008
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.