Re-install Appliaction for XL340TM : Version 9.056 missing


Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
23
Location
Toronto, Canada
TomTom Model(s)
XL 340LMT
I just reinstalled the appliication for my XL340TM and have a question. My XL340TM out of box has the application 9.056 and was later updated to 9.061 via TT Home update. When I reintsalled the application today after I removed the appliaction from the device using TomTom Home, I was offered 8.415, then 9.026 and finally 9.061. During this continous updating, version 9.056 was not offered. Why is that ? Also, it seems some functionality of my device is missing as well. For Example, I used to be able to pull up the roue Instructions screen direct by tapping the status bar while I am in the driving view. This no longer happens. It will bring up the Route summary screen first, then I need to tap on "Details" and "Browse as text" to get to the Route Instruction. ALso, I was able to just tap on the instruction to avoid part of the route. It no longer works. Will this be all related to the missing 9.056 version during the update process ? If so, how can I get the 9.056 be installed back to my device.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
12,102
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
I just reinstalled the appliication for my XL340TM and have a question. My XL340TM out of box has the application 9.056 and was later updated to 9.061 via TT Home update. When I reintsalled the application today after I removed the appliaction from the device using TomTom Home, I was offered 8.415, then 9.026 and finally 9.061. During this continous updating, version 9.056 was not offered. Why is that ?
What you are seeing are some logical "breakpoints" in the firmware, and you are only being offered the end of each branch. For example, you can't jump directly from 8.415 to 9.061, so the server offers you the most recent (last) version that could be loaded directly over 8.415. They don't know or understand that a user may have intentionally wiped a device's root clean to start, so they take it step by step. 9.061 is the end of that branch of code and supercedes 9.056 - which is why that isn't being offered. If it turns out to be necessary, we can probably turn up a copy of that version somewhere.

Also, it seems some functionality of my device is missing as well. For Example, I used to be able to pull up the roue Instructions screen direct by tapping the status bar while I am in the driving view. This no longer happens. It will bring up the Route summary screen first, then I need to tap on "Details" and "Browse as text" to get to the Route Instruction.
Hmm.. I do not recall having a version 9.XXX that did not manage the details exactly that way. It's how my 740 works, too. In fact, as I think about it, my 8.XXX devices worked that way. After hitting details (always necessary for me), there have always been several ways of viewing the routing information, requiring that I make some selection - like you, I regularly pick "Text".

How was it that you happened to be starting out your firmware load from scratch, anyway?
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
23
Location
Toronto, Canada
TomTom Model(s)
XL 340LMT
Thanks for the insight on the versions that are offered during the update process. I re-installed the application as my device kept re-booting when it was looking for the GPS signal. The "Manage Favourite" trick in TomTom Home no longer works so I decided to re-install the application. I do have a Explorer backup when the device was first out of the box (thanks for the advice in the forum). I am thinking to re-image my device with that backup copy and then see whether I can bring those functionality back. The only downside is then I need to update my map again as the out of box map version is 845.2670
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,469
Location
Boston, MA, USA
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
Tomtom GO for Android
There are two emulator tricks to fix rebooting these days:
1) Add a favorite in the emulator, fixes a bug in app 8.x
2) Use the emulator to go to the specific screen that causes rebooting, fixes a bug in app 9.x
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
12,102
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
@dhn
I was looking through the 'repository' and noticed that we don't have a 9.056 for the user - but it sounds like he has it well under control with his backup. Time to update the list?
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,374
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Mike or mvl may have a source. I've looked everywhere and can't find a link ..........:(

----------------------------------------------
Just found a couple that may be appropriate. I'll edit the list ..............
 
Last edited:

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
12,102
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740, GO 1535, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, GO Discover, TomTom Bridge
Since it's a U.S. TM model (includes TTS), the 2nd one would be more appropriate. The first one is for non-TTS models as might be seen in the U.K.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2011
Messages
23
Location
Toronto, Canada
TomTom Model(s)
XL 340LMT
Since it's a U.S. TM model (includes TTS), the 2nd one would be more appropriate. The first one is for non-TTS models as might be seen in the U.K.

How can I use the cab file to install the 9.056 onto my device ? Will it be easier than I re-image the whole device using my backup folder which will require me to update the map later (Yes, I do have the map update in my PC TomTom Folder)
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,374
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Make an Explorer, not Home, backup of your unit's contents. Then use Explorer to delete all the loose files in the root of the unit, NO folders or their contents.

Download the 9.056 cab file from the link and use WinRar to extract the files to the unit, overwriting if prompted.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top