RDS-TMC Traffic Receiver Feedback

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by Jaha, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. Jaha

    Jaha

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I jus purchased my Tomtom one 3rd edition and think its great.
    i was a bit disapointed that you also need to purchase the traffice receiver for traffic updates. theres only a few reviews on amazon and they werent great, but at the same time the people were from atl GA.
    feedback from anyone in california/southern california is appreciated.
    i really would like to know if its worth the hundred something bucks
    i hope i posted this in the correct section also
     
    Jaha, Nov 30, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Jaha

    Boyd

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    New Jersey
    TomTom Model(s):
    920T
    I am using the RDS receiver on a 920T in the Philadelphia area, so no idea if there will be issues with your GPS in your area. But after my first week I can say I'm very pleased with how it works. The traffic info appears to be at least as accurate as what I hear on the local radio stations, and it's available whenever you need it. I was a little skeptical at first, but so far it's a useful feature and I'm glad I got it.
     
    Boyd, Nov 30, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Jaha

    Jaha

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    thnx for the info now im debated if i wanna pay one hundred something bucks for a receiver. almost as much as another tomtom one
     
    Jaha, Nov 30, 2007
    #3
  4. Jaha

    Nextourer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Put it this way. How much would it cost a month if you were to use your data plan on your phone with your service provider?
     
    Nextourer, Nov 30, 2007
    #4
  5. Jaha

    Vulnox

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats why I was hoping my LE would work out. I have a Sprint SERO plan, so its $30 a month for every option, including unlimited EVDO, so the data thing would have saved me money.

    Oh well, the TomTom has a nice re-route function even if I do run into traffic.
     
    Vulnox, Nov 30, 2007
    #5
  6. Jaha

    trafficinfo

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    add 60 usd per year for the traffic subscription after the first year free trial runs out. your sunshine state should be fine , very good coverage there , not the case for NJ/NY or UK. but keep in mind to use that extra traffic info together with the gantry signs and am radio and a lot of!!! common sense due to the technology being still very new and still improving. you should also get traffic service 24x7 in major markets in your state like Los Angeles and San francisco. for more info check the traffic provider website www.realtimetraffic.net.

    the atlanta issue was probably an isolated issue , in that city Clear Channel's FM station broadcast with quite high power (ERP). most customers complaining are from NJ/NY or UK and some in Chicago , IL. other majir US and Canadian Markets get pretty good coverage due to high transmitter power levels. the exception in canada for now being Montreal, PQ, because they are broadcasting from an FM station based in Vermont, US.
     
    trafficinfo, Dec 1, 2007
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.