RANT: TomTom routing doesn't use speed limits!

TomTom Model(s)
ONE 130 S
"The secret to a happy life is low expectations" - Multiple sources.

Allow me to vent. I'm a 15 year veteran of GPS use, and I've been using various automobile nav solutions for about 10 years now ( started off on laptops!). There have always been 3 major sources of bad "fastest" routes: poor algorithms, bad maps, and bad speed limit estimates. Garmin has always had the edge on all 3, but still far from perfect. Well, here in Texas, just about every routing device does poorly on long-distance trips, because they always want to use Interstate highways. Why is this bad, you ask? Because the majority of Texas state highways, including farm-to-market roads, are 65-70 mph. Unfortunately, almost all navigation programs use default speeds for each "class" of roadway, and these are usually in the 40-50 mph range. As a result, routing and ETA's are horribly inaccurate. So back in 2002, when I discovered that my Garmin MapSource software (which came with my Garmin GPS V; my favorite all-around GPS of all time) allowed me to actually edit these default speeds, I was ecstatic! Suddenly, I could use values that were appropriate for a given region, and lo and behold, I had superb back road routing on my laptop!!! Angelic choirs were heard in the heavens! This concept, with its breathtakingly elegant combination of power and simplicity, was so obviously needed in every navigation device that only the most brain-dead of developers would not include it in their feature set. I waited for it to sweep through the industry. And waited. And waited.

Meanwhile, map system improvements continued to converge, and everyones algorithms got better and better. I took the plunge and bought TomTom navigator 5 for my Treo. I loved the interface, but the aforementioned problem continued to drive me nuts.