Purchasing a GO 950 Live in the UK and using it in the US?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by IsLNdbOi, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. IsLNdbOi

    IsLNdbOi

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking to purchase a GO 950 Live from Expansys. They deliver to the US.

    Is there anything that would keep me from being able to use 100% of the GO 950 Live's feature / functions here in the US?
     
    IsLNdbOi, Feb 8, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. IsLNdbOi

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,130
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Since the 950 is not offered in the US, I'd doubt the Live services functionality would work. You can call support at 866-486-6866 to confirm, though.
     
    dhn, Feb 8, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. IsLNdbOi

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Since the the North_America map is offered.for the 950 in the UK it could most likely be that Live Services will be non-functional over here, as dhn said.
     
    Arno, Feb 8, 2010
    #3
  4. IsLNdbOi

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    I have seen a recent post on PGPSW where a 940 Live purchased in the UK did actually work while in America see Here for more details - Mike
     
    mikealder, Feb 8, 2010
    #4
  5. IsLNdbOi

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    I saw that post and it wasn't so clear as to whether LIVE traffic doesn't work altogether, or whether it can process the American non-HD LIVE service.

    They're probably different traffic servers. When LIVE traffic in Europe has an outage, only American PLUS traffic has the same outage. American LIVE traffic is on a different outage schedule, thus I assume they're different servers.

    All the "official" roaming in Europe is on the Vodafone network. In the US, Tomtom is not roaming on Vodafone (Verizon) since it is different technology. They are instead roaming on AT&T. Tomtom might be paying a large data bill to support US roaming, so even if it does work now, there's a chance Tomtom could block it if too many users use the service and it starts costing Tomtom $$.

    If LIVE traffic works roaming in the US, it may be a reason for me to import a 940 from Europe. It would have the best of all the TT features currently offerred anywhere (except screen size).
     
    mvl, Feb 9, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.