Product Activation Code

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Salpal, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. Salpal

    Salpal

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,
    Thanks for coming in.
    I bought a tomtom SD card from ebay and when I inserted it, it asked for an activation code from www.ttcode.com

    The activation code requires two things:

    1- product code, and this is the missing one, as it did not come with the SD card.
    2- The device code which I got from the device its self.

    I would be grateful if anyone could help with how to obtain a product code.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Many thanks,
    Sal.
     
    Salpal, Jul 8, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Salpal

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    If it is a genuine TomTom SD card, then it should come pre-activated. You should also be given a copy of the code in case you need it (like right now!). So you should contact the vendor regarding the code.

    TomTom doesn't seem to cooperate very much in resolving problems with things bought on Ebay.

    The other thing that comes to mind is that this seems to be a very out of date map. After version 6 maps, activation was no longer done using ttcode.com. The latest map version is 7.20. Can you see on your card what version it is?

    (Look inside the card using Windows Explorer. Find the file that has the .pna extension. Open it with Notepad. On the 3rd line, you will see the version number.)

    TomTom now sells its maps thru the 'Home' program. I believe there is a 30% off sale on right now!
     
    46jimbo, Jul 8, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Salpal

    Gareth30

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom one
    I have a tomtom one. I got a card called product code how do I put it into my device.. Thanks
     
    Gareth30, Jul 2, 2012
    #3
  4. Salpal

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,976
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You shouldn't need it. The act of installing a map creates an activation file on the device.

    That said, did you buy a map on a tomtom sd card by any chance?
     
    dhn, Jul 2, 2012
    #4
  5. Salpal

    warthog1959

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oxford Uk
    TomTom Model(s):
    Rider 2
    I have the same problem, I am on the 4th attempt of updating maps. My tomtom is giving me a device code and telling me to get an activation code from TTcode, I paid for these maps last year and this is just an update. I cannot find a product code and not one bit of support or forum advice is helping. But if my maps are from last year then they should be higher than version 7. Why can I not talk to somebody on this, I am going on holiday tomorrow and need my maps updated NOW.
     
    warthog1959, Jul 3, 2012
    #5
  6. Salpal

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,976
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Call CS at 0845 161 0009 or 020 7387 5444
     
    dhn, Jul 3, 2012
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.