Problems installing US Maps from TT Shop

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by martine, Feb 3, 2008.

  1. martine

    martine

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    Shortly planning a trip to US, have bought the USA & Canda Maps from TT Shop, successfully downloaded to my PC (XP Home SP2), but attempts to install on my One XL (2gb card, plenty of space) is failing. Errror copying cline.dat, then SD card becomes inaccessible and PC restart gets blue screen. TT Support have helped, advised to unzipped files to folder then dragged and dropped to TT Drive. Didn't work directly, but got to work via separate SD card reader.

    Maps were still not able to be selected, after an hour on the phone to TT support we identified anomolies in file names, with some trial and error changing names we were able to select the US map ok, able to 'Browse Map' ok, BUT no place names visible, attempts to 'Prepare Route' also failed as no places appear. TT Support rand out of ideas and were going away to talk to 2nd line.

    Can someone advise on the folder titles and files names and file extensions that should be present on the TT One XL to operate successfully.

    My files are all under folder titled USA_and_Canada (currently named)...

    \brand (contains 93 GIF files)
    cline.dat
    cname.dat
    cnode.dat
    cphoneme.dat
    faces.dat
    mapinfo.dat
    poi.dat
    tables.dat
    tmccodes.dat
    traffic.dat
    map9051.gif
    map9051-1.gif
    USA_and_Canada-7.meta
    USA_and_Canada-7.meta.dct
    USA_and_Canada-7.toc
    USA_and_Canada-7.pna

    I would be grateful if someone could tell me what shoud be there

    Martin
     
    martine, Feb 3, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. martine

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,976
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Here's mine:
    [​IMG]

    Don't worry about the *.ov2 and *.bmp files you see, they are just poi's I put there but I do and any files I couldn't get in my screen capture match yours anyway. But I do see files in mine that you don't have. Hope this helps.
     
    dhn, Feb 3, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. martine

    martine

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    Problems

    dhn

    Do your USA_and_Canada names match mine exactly (those were the ones just off the bottom of your screen dump ?

    I have a lot more files in my UK Maps too where I have lots of POI, etc.

    Martine
     
    martine, Feb 3, 2008
    #3
  4. martine

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,976
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520

    Here are the rest:[​IMG]
     
    dhn, Feb 3, 2008
    #4
  5. martine

    martine

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    martine, Feb 3, 2008
    #5
  6. martine

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,976
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Feb 3, 2008
    #6
  7. martine

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    Since I can't, he probably can't either. It's just a X placeholder.
     
    SShadow, Feb 4, 2008
    #7
  8. martine

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,976
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Yeah, don't know what happened (actually, I do....) I'll fix in a few hours.

    --------------------

    Does the second shot show in my post above now? It shows for me here....(I know the first doesn't)
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
    dhn, Feb 4, 2008
    #8
  9. martine

    martine

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    Solved

    Mysteriously, I had an updated USA and Canada Maps download yesterday with a new folder names USA___Canada which I have installed (via SD card reader) and US maps are now accessible. Thanks for the help.
     
    martine, Feb 4, 2008
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.