Problem restoring original backup


Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
TT one original version
Haven't used my TT in years. I had loaned it to my son and recently found it in his stuff.

I have a GPS on my car and a Garmin. Hate both of them.

Wanted to use my old TT but not sure what my son has done to it but it doesn't work.

I decided to restore to original so downloaded Home and hooked it up went to restore and it will not restore. It indicates no restore point.

I know for sure I backed it up originally as I made a note in my files with the location and when I go to my old PC it is there under home/backups/go/backup01
Within this folder is a directory named storage and a file backup info.ini

Can someone explain why Home does not recognize this backup?

In reading the forum I saw where it indicated to follow this forum instructions for backing up and I assume restoring using windows explorer

https://www.tomtomforums.com/genera...4-how-backup-contents-your-unit-computer.html

This link no longer exists I suspect TomTom don't want us to backup manually but not sure why.

I have done the following; installed using windows explorer all the contents of the storage folder from the backup, connected the TT using Home and then asked to update. It then made a backup which I notice is under a folder "one" whereas the original was under a folder "GO". Why the change or does it not mean anything.

Navcore is now 7.903. Is this the latest that can be used on this TT?
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
The good news is that if your unit isn't physically broken, and if you've still got backups of a map of some sort, this should be recoverable.

7.903 is definitely not the most recent app for a ONE XL. Seems to me it was 8.014, but I'll need to look.

Just so we are clear. Do recall using ONLY Home to do the backup of your device, or do you think you may have also done it manually using our instructions (which have moved to here >> https://www.tomtomforums.com/thread...-to-the-computer-and-how-to-restore-it.17864/
It sounds as though it's the former case if you are only looking for content in that backup01 folder. However .. have you ever owned any other TomTom device? As there is no content in the backup01 folder, we've got a problem there. If it contains a folder called "Storage", that indicates that the device may well have an SD card in it. backup01 should also contain a folder called "Internal" that represents the content of the devices own internal (not SD) memory.

Edit: What is the content of the Storage folder?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 25, 2010
Messages
35
Location
NWest London, UK
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
Go550Live, Go530, Kia In-dash Tomtom
Original One XL last navcore was 8.010. No internal memory used SD card of up to 2GB capacity.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
TT one original version
Not sure about an SD card maybe it had one? This was from 2007 so my memory is vague. The info on notes I made which I kept in the box indicated it was my first backup and where it was on my PC.

The storage folder which I copied the contents of to the TT's internal memory after deleting what was there seemed similar to what is there now on the internal memory except it was all from March 2007. I would copy and list it on the thread but it is on a separate old XP PC.

I guess the important thing is after copying to internal memory replacing what was there the device worked and I was able to get it updated using HOME.

Now to decide whether to spend for maps. The old maps work but I am sure are way out of date. May not be a problem as I only really want it for our drive to and from Florida from Toronto. Both the Garmin and the GPS in my 2016 Hyundai do not show near as much info that I like while traveling. ie" no actual speed traveling at, as my car is in KPH I like to see the mph. I also like that it shows time to destination, miles to destination, and its easy to set up multiple way-points on an itinerary. My car gps is fine for local travel.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
3
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
TT one original version
Original One XL last navcore was 8.010. No internal memory used SD card of up to 2GB capacity.
I think I was mistaken mine is just TomTom one v1 as it has an SD slot and was pretty well the first GPS TomTom made available in Canada.

Didn't recall it coming with an SD card though.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Ah, big difference between the original ONE and the ONE XL. Thank you for correcting that. Must have been in your profile as I do not see it in your original post. It was the XL that had the SD card. The original ONE (serial number starting with "G") was a 1GB unit and it did not even have an SD card slot. Honestly ... much depends upon where you drive, but a device capable of only 1GB of storage is going to have to use a very regionally restricted map these days.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,645
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
In reading the forum I saw where it indicated to follow this forum instructions for backing up and I assume restoring using windows explorer

https://www.tomtomforums.com/genera...4-how-backup-contents-your-unit-computer.html

This link no longer exists I suspect TomTom don't want us to backup manually but not sure why.
Just for the record, and future readers, the above URL is on this server and is not connected to the company TomTom.

canderson already gave the replacement as

https://www.tomtomforums.com/threads...-to-the-computer-and-how-to-restore-it.17864/
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top