probably already covered, but why?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by eclimax13, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. eclimax13

    eclimax13

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    just curious...at one point my 720 was dead on with current position but now i notice its about 100-200 feet behind....any ideas?...is this common with all gps?
     
    eclimax13, Feb 10, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. eclimax13

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    Have you updated it recently? Try resetting it via the pin reset on the bottom of the unit. Failing that, try the ClearFlash utility from TomTom.
     
    SShadow, Feb 11, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. eclimax13

    Mike28a

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    This happened recently and was apparantly due to a slight error in the GPSfix download for the day. It was fixed pronto.
     
    Mike28a, Feb 12, 2008
    #3
  4. eclimax13

    Robm

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    Sounds like you have some drifting going on...the gpsfix should work
     
    Robm, Feb 12, 2008
    #4
  5. eclimax13

    Cerberus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Ohio
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Actually, none of the GPSfixes worked for me... everywhere I go, I am around 100' away from my "Goal". Have all the updates and all, but it's not "on target." I noticed this to be the case when checking addresses on Google maps / MS Street as well.

    Shadow - you think that ClearFlash should fix this? I haven't used this tool in a while, but it shouldn't delete any of my settings, correct?
     
    Cerberus, Feb 13, 2008
    #5
  6. eclimax13

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    If you are 100' from your target, that is probably normal. Especially if you are using an address as the addressing is almost always off. They "guesstimate" the location of any said address (if the road is 1km long, and there are 10 houses on the road, each house address will be roughly 100m apart - according to the TomTom, whether the houses really are or not.)

    If you are lagging, on your screen, by 100' or so WHILE you are driving (ie you pass by an intersection, but the map display shows you about 100' away from the intersection) then the GPSFix should solve your issue. If it doesn't, try the clearflash - it won't hurt anything (except delete your favorites, I believe).
     
    SShadow, Feb 13, 2008
    #6
  7. eclimax13

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,874
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    IF lag:

    Another thing that has recently caused some lag problems for folks with 720's is the use of a certain 920 POI file that I saw around here a few days ago. They enable the entire 920 POI set just to see what's around and about, and the 720 can't manage locating and display of so many points concurrently with providing decent positional information. Significanty reducing the displayed categories from the 920 list will help that. Not owning a 920, I can't say if they've got more horsepower under the hood to manage this task, or whether you can overload that unit with too much POI data as well.
     
    canderson, Feb 13, 2008
    #7
  8. eclimax13

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    That is true as well. Turn off any POIs that you don't care about. That'll help you alot... Or use a custom menu that has the Show/Hide POI button very handy (mine is on the 2nd page of the main menu)...
     
    SShadow, Feb 13, 2008
    #8
  9. eclimax13

    Cerberus

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Ohio
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    I did notice drifting a few times, but as you all mentioned, i think this was fixed w/ GPSfix. I was just curious about the actual address, but as I've mentioned, this is true for pretty much all GPSs (including Gmaps n'at).
     
    Cerberus, Feb 13, 2008
    #9
  10. eclimax13

    eclimax13

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i did a reset to factory and unchecked a bunch of poi's i didnt really need and its back to dead on accurate again...thanks for all ur help
     
    eclimax13, Feb 13, 2008
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.