POI's

TomTom Model(s)
Can anyone please help?

I am an ambulance driver and use my tomtom 950 to get to different hospitals throughout the UK. I have downloaded an extra A&E poi catagory which now means i have 2 pois files for hospitals. Is it possible to transfer all the hospitals from one folder in to the other so they are all together?

Many thanks Damion

If you have two Hospital POI files and you want to join them to become a single file the best approach is to use POIEdit to concatenate the files thus producing a single file containing all locations. POIEdit can be downloaded for free from www.poiedit.com - Mike

I think the OP may want to combine the new file he's downloaded with the BUILT-IN "hospitals" category on the TomTom.

You can't do that with POI Edit, I'm afraid.

There used to be a way to merge your own POI files into one of the TomTom's own POIs (a trick I'm still really proud of finding) but it stopped working a long time ago AFAIK.
Here's my original write-up, but I'm pretty sure it won't work now. Merging Your Own Poi Files With The Built In Categories.

My best solution to your question is to ignore the built-in TomTom POIs completely.

Download a "Hospitals" POI file from the same place as you got the A+E one from, then use POI edit to merge THOSE two together.
You can give the finished file whatever name you like, to differentiate it from the built-in one.

If you are going to use it a lot, another good trick is to name it with an underscore at the front... something like "_Hospitals&A+E".
That way it will appear at the top of the alphabetical listing.

Hi Andy_P, many thanks for your reply. yea that was my initial intention having all the UK hospitals in one folder so i downloaded POIEdit as mikealder mentioned but somehow it managed to screw my pc up lol so what ive done is ive deleted the hospital poi's from my tomtom and i think what im gonna do is (if i remember) add the hospitals manually when i get to them and see if that works.