POI Search -- why is it not more robust?

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by ReLLiK75, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. ReLLiK75

    ReLLiK75

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone...

    I'm a new 920T owner and have been trying to get used to the device. I'm coming over from Sprint Telenav on my BB 8830. While Telenav is certainly nice when it works (plus you don't have to carry around a second GPS), when you don't have service, you might as well be driving blind if you're actually depending on the GPS to get you from point A to B.

    One of the really outstanding features of Telenav is the ability to search for a business by name. It will then use your devices data connection to query for all the matches near your current GPS location.

    Since the 920 can use a cellphone's data services via bluetooth to look up weather and traffic, why can't it also do the same thing for businesses?

    I find myself continually having to load something like google maps or Microsoft Live on my BB8830 to search for the business that I need and then plug the address in to my 920. It would be such an awesome feature if the 920 would let my type in the business name, and then provide an option to do a "data connection" lookup.

    Any TomTom employees reading this??? :D

    Wayne
     
    ReLLiK75, Feb 26, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ReLLiK75

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Pedro2NR, Feb 27, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ReLLiK75

    Giorgio57

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Rome,Italy - Newport Bch. California
    TomTom Model(s):
    Mercedes A160 Go300 - 510 Apple iPhone
    Poi's For Puerto Rico

    Can Anyone Answer This? Puerto Rico Is Part Of The U.s.,there Is A Map For P.rico In The N.america Map So Why Ar'nt There Any Poi's?i
    I Have Tried To Make My Own As In The Past But When You Look For Something In The Web I.e. Burger King They Dont Have P.rico Adrresses In There.
     
    Giorgio57, Feb 27, 2008
    #3
  4. ReLLiK75

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Pedro2NR, Feb 28, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.