Plus Service: Traffic, Road Conditions, Weather

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by Andrew Revering, Nov 22, 2007.

  1. Andrew Revering

    Andrew Revering

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get nothing but mixed signals on whether or not the Plus Service Traffic (through internet, not through radio signal) is available in the United States.

    Where I find documentation on it, even on the TomTom web site, it seems traffic is available here, but only through the TNC Radio signals. I would like clarity on if it's available through the Bluetooth internet plus service?

    Does anyone in the US subscribe to the service and get traffic updates?

    This includes road conditions and weather I'm assuming?
     
    Andrew Revering, Nov 22, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Andrew Revering

    The Spook

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    31.105192, 121.013781
    TomTom Model(s):
    910, 720 and ONE NE
    Traffic from PLUS is available in the US. It may even be free still, it was for a long time. I know that many of the people here use it, and I am sure they will give you the details soon. It is superior to the RDS-TMC delivered traffic.

    There is one caveat however. AFAIK, none of the PLUS services are compatible with CDMA based handsets.

    Road conditions are included with the PLUS traffic service (one of the benefits over RDS-TMC). Weather is a separate service and is completely free. You don't need to subscribe (apologies if I gave that impression earlier). If you don't enter an username for PLUS (you need a free 'my tomtom' account) you only get current weather, if you have entered your account details (under PLUS services section) you will get the 5-day forecast.
     
    The Spook, Nov 22, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Andrew Revering

    yunixx

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom traffic via internet (not antenna) works for me on my new TT920. I am using my T-Mobile data plan to do this.

    TomTom's website did not provide any real info regarding traffic service in the US. So I called TomTom customer service and they said that it is free for the next 3 months... I think they dont have the subscription infrastructure in place...

    So if you want to try traffic, give them a call and I am sure they will give it to you free.
     
    yunixx, Dec 19, 2007
    #3
  4. Andrew Revering

    ajsasr

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northern Alabama
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    Use with T-Zones

    I sure wish I could get this working through T-Mobile T-Zones. It sounds like a nice feature, but I'm not willing to upgrade my phone plan to the full internet :(
     
    ajsasr, Dec 19, 2007
    #4
  5. Andrew Revering

    JimT

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT Go 2535M, TT 740Live, TT 510
    I don't blame you- especially with the questions concerning accuracy!!
     
    JimT, Dec 20, 2007
    #5
  6. Andrew Revering

    x4me84

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    920T
    yunixx - do you know if the TomTom traffic (internet) works with T-zones? or do you have to have full internet capabilities? I am able to view most webpages via tzones. Could you please list the settings that you use on the TomTom? Thanks
     
    x4me84, Dec 21, 2007
    #6
  7. Andrew Revering

    priller

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just purchased a GO720 based on the Plus Traffic service capabilities. The website clearly states that it is available in the US ....

    "The TomTom Traffic service is currently available for Austria, The Netherlands, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States."

    "Accurate real-time warnings about dangerous road conditions ahead (fog, snow, ice and so on) anywhere in Europe, Australia and the US. (TomTom application version 6.0 or higher)"


    .... etc.

    After I spent several hours trying to figure out why it was not showing up in Home, I'm now finding out that it is not available. Furthermore, it seems to have been in some state of trial/beta for over a year.

    I've tried to call the TT support number countless times and only get a busy. I've also opened an online case, that is yet to be responded to.

    This is a very disappointing situation. Before I return the 720, could anybody confirm that they are still providing this service on a free trail basis .... and if it is ever going to be a real supported Plus service offering, in the US.

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
    priller, Dec 29, 2007
    #7
  8. Andrew Revering

    frankthefrowner

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    I thought it was just something wrong with my TomTom -- but it looks like I'm not the only one having this problem...

    I managed to get the Plus services working with my Blackberry 8830 (Verizon), including Traffic. It worked for the first day but now I get a screen that says I need a subscription. There seems to be no way to subscribe in the US, though.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2007
    frankthefrowner, Dec 29, 2007
    #8
  9. Andrew Revering

    billcoff

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I unchecked the recommended box and saw I could subscribe for 39 pounds, which I think is about 80 dollars. I went to the last step and then regained my senses. Plus traffic would be nice, but not that nice.
     
    billcoff, Jan 3, 2008
    #9
  10. Andrew Revering

    frankthefrowner

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    I saw that too, but it also says that the subscription is only for Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, The Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland and The United Kingdom.

    How does one get traffic working in the US?
     
    frankthefrowner, Jan 3, 2008
    #10
  11. Andrew Revering

    priller

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    A follow up to my situation. I opened an online case and TT responded today. They gave me free US Traffic Plus through May 2008.

    This is a very strange and somewhat frustrating situation TT has created. They advertise that Plus Traffic is available in the US, but there is no way to subscribe. When you question the issue, they just give it to you for free. :confused:


    Oh well, I'm happy for now .... just have to see what happens in May.


    BTW ... when viewing the Plus Traffic page on tomtom.com, make sure you have United States selected in the top right. The availability info is different from the default UK site.
     
    priller, Jan 3, 2008
    #11
  12. Andrew Revering

    frankthefrowner

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    Very strange indeed. I've e-mailed support, hopefully I will get free access as well...
     
    frankthefrowner, Jan 3, 2008
    #12
  13. Andrew Revering

    DarkEye

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    920T
    DarkEye, Jan 3, 2008
    #13
  14. Andrew Revering

    tekstyle

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you guys have to use your cell phone to use PLUS service? I ask because I was able to get weather report and traffic update through bluetooth through my cell phone after pairing up and creating an arbitary username and password. I never provided any of my info other than an email address. And to top it of, I don't even have a data plan on my cell phone provider ( i might get charged a buttload for tethering i think).

    i just called my cell phone service provider and they sent me a txt msg stating I have no kilobyte usage. great!
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2008
    tekstyle, Jan 4, 2008
    #14
  15. Andrew Revering

    F22

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    pacific northWET
    FranktheFROWNER:

    Are you still FROWNing? I am interested in whether you have solved your problems getting traffic data working on the Blackberry 8830.

    But in any event, could you explain what you did, settings or whatever to even get the initial aspects working with VERIZON? Did the phone show up correctly on the TomTom? Other odd tweaks or pretty straight forward?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2008
    F22, Jan 5, 2008
    #15
  16. Andrew Revering

    Timon

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Tustin, CA USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920T
    Got 3 months free

    I got mine for free but only until 5/04/08. At that point I have to call and and they may extend it.
     
    Timon, Jan 7, 2008
    #16
  17. Andrew Revering

    Mitchrapp

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT GO 720 + 2GB SD Ultra II
    How would I get the traffic thing to work in Montreal, Canada? Since it's "free for 3 months" ... do I just call tomTom?
     
    Mitchrapp, Jan 8, 2008
    #17
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.