please help! newbie here

i just purchased a TTonexl and when i hooked it uyp to our car my position was off by about a block. now i've read that make sure unit has the latest software updates installed, so i used the disc that came with the unit and installed tthome version 1. ? ? ? whatever, it then checks for update and shows the update as 7. ? ? whatever. it asks to install update now...i say "yes" then it says to make backup...which i did.
after backup is made i select install to tomtom and it comes up with an error " an error occured while unpacking compressed file"" . i try get update again...once it downloads i select it to install and same error message?
also another screen popped up once to upgrade tthome to version 2.? ? ? whatever, i said ok... it deleted first version and about half way through it gave a "CRC error that install shield will have to abort.

i am running windows xp , sounds like maybe a puter prob to me? or can anyone shed some light regarding the errors?

thanks in advance!

ok i've managed to download and install TThome ver 2.
however when i click update tomtom it downloads the update and then when going to install i get this error:

INVALID ARCHIVE/c:?mydocuments?tomtom/home/navcore_7.12.8459.navcore7.cab

tried downloading a new one and get same error when installing?

can anyone shed some light on what i may be doing wrong?

ok managed to get new application installed and voices after formatting the device, now i need to install the map of usa and canada.
tech on phone thought i may have a corrupt map, that is why my TT1xl shows me a block away from my actual position when hooked up in my vehicle. so i downloaded a new map.
after downloading it goes to install and i get the message of .cab file not found. tried rebooting pc...still same thing, shut off antivirus, did a defrag...still same thing.