Phone number bug when returning Bluetooth calls

Discussion in 'Bluetooth/Phone Connectivity' started by Krellan, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. Krellan

    Krellan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    I have a TomTom 930T.

    I have an iPhone 3GS, connected with Bluetooth.

    It works fine for receiving calls, and for placing manually-dialed calls.

    However, there's a pretty severe bug when trying to return a call from the recently-received list.

    I'm in the USA, in the 408 area code.

    The TomTom formats phone numbers like this, when displaying them on its list, which is wrong:

    +4085551212

    When the TomTom tries to dial this phone number, it fails miserably. Notice this is a malformed phone number: it's country code 40, which doesn't exist.

    A proper USA phone number, fully-qualified, has 12 characters: "+1", followed by 3-digit area code, then by 7-digit local number, like this:

    +14085551212

    See the difference? Unfortunately, TomTom doesn't see the difference. Since they are a European company, it's not surprising they have little experience dialing USA phone numbers.

    I know this bug isn't in the iPhone, because its call list is correctly formatted. The phone number appears correctly in the iPhone. It's just the TomTom that is getting it wrong.

    This makes it impossible for me to return calls received when driving, which is unfortunate. Is there any workaround for this?

    Thanks!

    Josh
     
    Krellan, Sep 14, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Krellan

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,200
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Eh? The "1" is only prepended for long distance / metered calls in most (all?) of the U.S. If they're still playing that game out in area code 408, perhaps it's time to get fussy with your local PUC for not having rationalized the dialing system out there. That the CID is not prepending the "1" isn't a TomTom malfunction. I suspect it's just dialing what it's getting from your carrier. "Malformed" is in the eye of the beholder.

    The rest of us are dialing local calls with area code + number without the "1". Proper?
     
    canderson, Sep 18, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Krellan

    Krellan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    The 1 isn't the problem.

    It's the "+" (plus sign) that is the problem.

    The "+" indicates to the phone system that a country code, instead of an area code, follows.

    If the TomTom just sent the 10 digits to the phone, that wouldn't be a problem at all. I have many phone numbers that I dial with 10 digits, and it works great.

    However, the TomTom is sending the "+", followed by 10 digits. That's weird, and I've never seen it before in any phone system.

    Have you tried using the TomTom to return a call with Bluetooth? I'm wondering if anybody else can reproduce this bug.
     
    Krellan, Sep 18, 2010
    #3
  4. Krellan

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    I have the exact same problem on both my GO740 and GO930.

    The + without the 1 makes the phone attempt an international call.

    This was also the same reason why the GO740 couldn't call a Google POI. The Google POI was finally fixed in app 9.054, but they haven't fixed the recent caller issue yet.
     
    mvl, Sep 18, 2010
    #4
  5. Krellan

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,200
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Ah, gotcha. I thought you were saying that a properly formed USA number required the "1". I was remembering the days when you still couldn't get flat rate service out there and wondering if there was still such a plan.

    Sprint seems to ignore the "+" character altogether on the redial, so a number like +3036523595 has never been a problem for me out here in Colorado. I'm guessing the difference is that you're on a GSM network (AT&T, perhaps?) that is actually interpreting the "+" instead of ignoring it. If so, I can understand what kind of train wreck that would be.
     
    canderson, Sep 18, 2010
    #5
  6. Krellan

    dmoore

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi... I am assuming this issue has not been corrected since I cannot make a phone call from my "Recent Caller" list in my Go730. Yes I have AT&T and it thinks I am trying to make an international call. Just curious why is the system putting a "+" sign in the Recent Caller list? and, Has anyone been able to find a work around from internet land?
     
    dmoore, Mar 30, 2011
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.