Peugeot 508 sat nav


Joined
Aug 9, 2022
Messages
2
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
I have just bought a new 2022 Peugeot Allure 508. It has in cat sat nav by Tomtom. At the time of pickup I wanted to set my new destination as my home address. I entered the city, the street name and then the number which is 25. On entering 25 the satnav change it to 14. I attempted to set it back to 25 but everytime I tried it was changed to 14. I tried other numbers but they were also changed to 14 and a few were changed to 1. Can anyone tell me why this should be happening?
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,275
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
It may be the mapping data on the sat nav is incorrect and doesn't recognize the number 25.

That said, may don't bother putting the precise home number on their devices in case the device is lost or stolen. Now, that argument doesn't hold too much water for an in-built sat nav but the point is that a minor discrepancy is not that big an issue.

What version of the map is installed? And how do you get map updates for the car?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2022
Messages
2
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
I have no idea what version is installed. I haven't seen anything so far in the menu that points to that info. The car is brand new so I assume the maps are up to date.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,812
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Don't know if it applies in your case as you tried several house numbers but TomTom sometimes uses the nearest street to the centre of a property. In my caseit wants me to go through a fence and drop 2 stories down from that adjacent road in the back.

My work around for a precise location is to open Google maps on the PC (itis always running at home), put the mouse on the spot, right click and use the "What is here?" to get the coordinates . Usually, 4 to 5 decimals are OK.

It may be easier for you if your screen works like a TomTom GPS where you can tap on the screen to mark a location and rename it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,652
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
I have no idea what version is installed. I haven't seen anything so far in the menu that points to that info. The car is brand new so I assume the maps are up to date.
While I doubt it's related to your immediate problem, NEVER assume that a car is delivered with 'current' maps! The head units are built and held in inventory for the car to be built, which eventually finds its way to a dealer, which eventually winds up in the customer's hands. TomTom delivers new maps every quarter for the earlier generation units, and updates almost weekly for the newest models. Upon receipt, it would not be surprising if your maps were 9 months 'old' when you got the car.

Somewhere in that encyclopedia of a manual, it should provide you with map updating procedures. It's worth keeping up with that provided they're not charging for the service, and occasionally, even if they do.

Just for grins, try entering your address information here to see what the online (and usually fairly current) map makes of it and report back:
That will provide an idea as to whether TomTom's mapping service is already aware of the address or not.
If not, here's a tool you can use to let them know about changes that need to be made:
 
Last edited:

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top