Permanently avoid a highway

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Yesterday's Shoveler, Jan 15, 2008.

  1. Yesterday's Shoveler

    Yesterday's Shoveler

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anyway to permanently avoid a stretch of highway when route planning? We've got about five miles of a major highway that will be shut down for reconstruction for more then a year. I'd like to add it to a "blacklist" of sorts if that's possible?

    This would be on a TomTom Eclipse (DUO? AVN2210p?) with the 6.553 software.

    Thanks!
     
    Yesterday's Shoveler, Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Yesterday's Shoveler

    danjreed

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    4
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One (3rd ed)
    Sure, use the map edit section, and block the highway... just remember not to share it with other users!
     
    danjreed, Jan 17, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Yesterday's Shoveler

    Yesterday's Shoveler

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please excuse my ignorance on this, but what is the "map edit section"?
     
    Yesterday's Shoveler, Jan 17, 2008
    #3
  4. Yesterday's Shoveler

    lec510

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    16
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    He talked about Mapshare on Navcore 7, you don't have it.
     
    lec510, Jan 17, 2008
    #4
  5. Yesterday's Shoveler

    Locotuss

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Missouri
    TomTom Model(s):
    510
    must be talking about I-64, traffic not as bad as they said, you have to block it each time you plan a trip








    i
     
    Locotuss, Jan 18, 2008
    #5
  6. Yesterday's Shoveler

    Yesterday's Shoveler

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, not nearly as bad as the "news" stations had hoped. ;) I live in the city and work in St. Charles county, my commute has actually improved. They can leave it shut down! :D
     
    Yesterday's Shoveler, Jan 18, 2008
    #6
  7. Yesterday's Shoveler

    Locotuss

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Missouri
    TomTom Model(s):
    510
    it's a hassle, but plan your trip and then choose avoid portion of route, view it and choose I-64 I-40, to avoid, should reroute you, sucks for the gps, I also read where Tripquest and other Map aren't avoiding it on there sites, feel sorry for travelors using I-64 in St Louis for next two years.
     
    Locotuss, Jan 18, 2008
    #7
  8. Yesterday's Shoveler

    keithe524

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    Create an itinerary file that bypasses that section of highway.
    Download TYRE to help with that.
    Keith
     
    keithe524, Jan 19, 2008
    #8
  9. Yesterday's Shoveler

    Smokiewolf

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Northern VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    You know, you could also report this to TeleAtlas at TeleAtlas.com
    That's the company that provides maps to TomTom
     
    Smokiewolf, Jan 19, 2008
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.