Overwritting POI's?

Discussion in 'Restuarants & Food Related' started by Mitchrapp, Jan 8, 2008.

  1. Mitchrapp

    Mitchrapp

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT GO 720 + 2GB SD Ultra II
    This may have been answered and I tried to look for an answer but couldn't so...


    Let's say I just got my 720, updated everything and it's brand new.
    Now I add, for example, the Tim Hortons Canada POI's from this forum.

    For the Timmies' that are already in TomTom's POI database... will they now be in double, or will it see the same address twice and just show one of them?
    The same with icons on the map, will it show 2 icons for 2 tim hortons at the same spot (if both the TT and the custom POI db's collide) ?

    I'm very interested in adding ALL these POI's (I've noticed that the TomTom 720 doesn't show a lot of the newer places) but I don't want there to be doubles all over the place

    Thanks
     
    Mitchrapp, Jan 8, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Mitchrapp

    46jimbo

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT ONE v1
    To take your example, the Tim Hortons in the built-in file are in the restaurant category. So they will only show if you turn on this category, but then, all restaurants of all sorts will be shown along with them. (So far, you can't break this list down into type, etc.)

    So if you have both the Tim Horton's downloadable POIs turned on at the same time as the restaurants, there will be some duplication. So turn on only the Tim Hortons. Then, when you browse the map, all you will see are the icons indicating the TH locations.

    I think it best to only turn on a category of something you are currently searching for. Having several categories going at the same time just adds a lot of mess to the map display. For my everyday use, I have nothing turned on.
     
    46jimbo, Jan 8, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Mitchrapp

    dinch

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    Overwriting files

    Similar to the last post about Tim Hortons, the retail icons on my One XL drive me nuts. Very seldom is there anything listed other than Radio Shack (which doesn't even exist anymore in Canada). Can we open the TomTom Binary file "Retail_Stores" and edit it. (399k) POI Edit won't open this file on my computer.

    The way I have sensed the world of TomTom since November when I bought my unit, the TomTom managers would be smart to give up their codes so smart people (like our moderators on these forums) could be encouraged to make changes and improvements to menus, POI's, map improvements and corrections, and left turns instead of going around the block (just to name a few).
     
    dinch, Jan 9, 2008
    #3
  4. Mitchrapp

    AldoP

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    editting pois

    I found a nice tool for editting pois, http://www.poiedit.com/ but I suspect it won't help you editing the built in POIs. On my TT OneXL, the builtins are in one big file. I suspect TT does this so you can update their POIs easily. What I've been doing is using the same .bmp file that the builtins use but I've created my own ov2 file. I started using the "create POI" feature on the TT but now I've started to use the poiedit tool. In my case, I need to find hockey rinks, so I've created an ov2 & bmp file "HockeyRinks". ciao :)
     
    AldoP, Jan 9, 2008
    #4
  5. Mitchrapp

    georges99

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Candiac/Montreal, CDN
    Hi all !

    I do not see maps for North America in POI Edit ! Is it only for Europe ?


    George
     
    georges99, Jan 11, 2008
    #5
  6. Mitchrapp

    AldoP

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One XL
    poiedit

    >>I do not see maps for North America in POI Edit ! Is it only for Europe ?>

    I only use the editor from that site. I get the actual poi files from this site or I create them myself.
     
    AldoP, Jan 21, 2008
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.