Over Speed Limit warning set point change? (ONE 3rd edition)

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by professorman, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. professorman

    professorman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 3rd Editiion
    I have searched, but havent found much.
    I have a TomTom one 3rd edition.

    I want to change the alert point for my over the speed limit warning. Currently, it warns me whenever I am 5MPH over the limit. I pretty much drive at 5MPH over the limit, so I would prefer if it warns me when I am 8MPH over the limit. Right now, its always beeping all the time. I want to change this setting, but I dont see any option to do so.

    What can I do to fix this?
     
    professorman, Oct 22, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. professorman

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Other than turning off the warning, not much I'm afraid. The 5 mph is hard coded.
     
    dhn, Oct 22, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. professorman

    professorman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 3rd Editiion
    Aw man. Is this all Tom Toms or just the 3rd edition?
     
    professorman, Oct 23, 2008
    #3
  4. professorman

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    On my 720 there are 2 settings under Safety Preferences: Warn when faster than allowed (which is hard coded, I think for 5 mph over) and Warn when driving faster than a set speed for which you can set a specific speed. The latter won't do what you want because you may be on roads where the speed limit is, say 50 kph. ou can set the set the warning for 58 and it'll work.

    But..........you then move to a road where the set speed is, say 65 kph. Well, it won't warn you at 73 but STILL will warn you at 58!
     
    dhn, Oct 23, 2008
    #4
  5. professorman

    sageuvagony

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Tampa, FL USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    LOL I had forgotten I had my ONE XL set to warn at 55 MPH, and when I was on the airplane going 500 MPH, it kept going off. The warning sound I have it set to sounds JUST like the airplane seatbelt sound.
     
    sageuvagony, Oct 24, 2008
    #5
  6. professorman

    Ricochet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Delmarva, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE 3rd, GO 720
    Well, you could edit & raise the speed limits by 3 (or 5) mph on all relevant roads in your area. ;)
    Although, the well-known round-off error may make this impractical.
     
    Ricochet, Oct 24, 2008
    #6
  7. professorman

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    I have a 3rd edition and I changed my speed alert. But I chose not to use 'above speed limit' but to a 'set speed'. Here's how:

    Tap screen...
    • "Change preferences"
    • "Safety preferences"
    • I turn off 'Warn when driving faster than allowed" THEN
    • put check mark in 'Warn when driving faster than a set speed"
    • click 'done'
    • now enter speed you want TomTom to alert you (mine's set to 77)
    • Tap 'OK'
    • select the alert sound (I prefer 'polite 2' which is a low gong sound)
    • continue with the 2 choices left as you want them, then 'done'

    Hope this helps.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2008
    Rick F., Oct 24, 2008
    #7
  8. professorman

    sageuvagony

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Tampa, FL USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    It was said that this is pointless because speed limits vary so much in different areas. He simply wants to be warned when he goes 8 miles above the speed limit, which is not possible.
     
    sageuvagony, Oct 24, 2008
    #8
  9. professorman

    Rick F.

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    South FL
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL-335TM; Map 935.5811
    He said it was beeping all the time and wanted to change the setting. Since you can't change the 5mph over speed limit, this is just another way of being alerted at a certain speed. It works for me because the speed limits I'm concerned with are on I-95 -- which is 70mph. Just a suggestion.
     
    Rick F., Oct 25, 2008
    #9
  10. professorman

    pianoCM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lowell, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920
    Cm'mon, people, make your life easier, not harder, will ya?
    If annoyance by its beep, then why not just turn off completely?
    Tomtom set speed limit on roads that have those info, how many of you guys actually driving 35mph in the local street? driving 55mph on the highway and keep speeding at 65mph throughout Boston, MA to Orlando, FL???
    In fact, we, daily, drive with the speed of the traffic flow, not by the speed limit. Tomtom implemented these tools and we keep ask for more and more.
    BTW, driving on road that limit 35mph, TT unit goes off when hits 39 or 40mph and if you keep driving above that speed, there will be NO MORE beeping.
    It only beeps again if you drop below that range then speed up over it again.
    So, three choices to not hearing the beep, one, turn that thing off, two, keep driving over the speed limit (just one beep) or three, driving below the speed limit
     
    pianoCM, Oct 25, 2008
    #10
  11. professorman

    sageuvagony

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Tampa, FL USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720




    The answer is NO. It simply is not possible. And shutting off his warnings won't yeild him what he wants.
     
    sageuvagony, Oct 25, 2008
    #11
  12. professorman

    Ricochet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Delmarva, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE 3rd, GO 720
    Heh, so my tongue-in-cheek suggestion to change all the relevant road speeds by +3 to 5mph would have worked, then... :p

    R?
     
    Ricochet, Oct 27, 2008
    #12
  13. professorman

    sageuvagony

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Tampa, FL USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    LOL! I misunderstood your original post but after re-reading it, that WOULD work perfectly for him, although it wouldn't be very nice for other TomTom users around his area.

    Edit: Then again, he can choose NOT to share his changes with other people. Well there you go! Go Ricochet!!!
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2008
    sageuvagony, Oct 27, 2008
    #13
  14. professorman

    professorman

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 3rd Editiion
    Exactly. Thanks for the clarification for the others. I guess I will have to wait until I am ready to purchase a new GPS, then I can nit-pick on what I want for my next purchase.
     
    professorman, Jan 28, 2009
    #14
  15. professorman

    Old Baldy

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    South Lyon, MI, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One 2nd Edition
    I agree with the annoyance. It should take a programmer a whole 60 minutes of effort to implement a new parameter to hold a "percentage variance" number, say +5% or -10% or whatever you prefer, to be applied to all the map speed limits, for this warning tone threshold.....and make so many of us much happier.

    I swear the folks that design these device's software don't use them like many of us do... ;)
     
    Old Baldy, Jan 31, 2009
    #15
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.