Optimizing Routes for TT Rider 5

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by Koen, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. Koen

    Koen

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    België
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go1000live, Rider3, Rider5
    As the only person in a motorcycle club I own a TomTom rider 5 (and a 3)
    Most of the club members own Garmin devices. You'll understand later why.

    All routes are created in .gdb format containing all routes for a trip, (4 per day). The trip organizers put a lot of work in the routes, riding them, editing and checking them. As Garmin does not seem to limit the number of waypoints I receive for a day trip a .gdb file with 4 routes of ca 400-600 waypoints each.

    Issues I have are :
    1. The free version of Tyre does not seem to be able to handle .gdb files So I need to use ITN converter. Does the paying version of Tyre allow to handle .gdb ?
    2. The number of waypoints can not be handled by the TT Rider, but splitting the routes is not a workable solution. So I spend in average as much time to reduce the route to an (for TT) acceptable number of waypoints as to ride it.
    3. Due to map differences the route makes loops as waypoints are some time off route.

    Some of the people not yet using a GPS device are charmed by the design and basic functionalities of the TT Rider but not charmed at all due to the issue with the exchangebility of routes.

    Question 1: Who is the wizzard who can help me continue to enjoy my TT rider, without having to spend entire evenings editing perfect routes to reduce the number of waypoints from far too much but workable on a Garmin, to an TomTom rider acceptable level ?

    Question 2: We're planning a 4 day trip ... I'm not planning to bring my PC, and I'm afraid the Rider's memory is too small or that I need to reset it due to a technical issue. So how can I take more then the devices memory in routes ? I can't find the possibility to use it with a Memory card.

    Thanks,

    Koen
     
    Koen, Jun 17, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Koen

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,491
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Put this into Google

    convert .gdb to .itn

    Ignore first return as it will tell you to check with Google.

    Don't have a Garmin but the 2nd one may be what you need.
     
    Arno, Jun 18, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Koen

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    @Koen
    For this and many other purposes, I use a tool called GSAK. It's WAY more than you really need, however. The underlying conversion engine for it can be used in stand-alone mode, and is called GPSBabel. You can get it here: http://www.gpsbabel.org/

    This really amazing little piece of software will convert pretty much anything to anything when it comes to GPS file formats, and will easily pick the waypoints out of a gdb file and convert to a TomTom itn or ov2 file for your Rider units.
     
    canderson, Jun 18, 2013
    #3
  4. Koen

    Koen

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    België
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go1000live, Rider3, Rider5
    thanks Arno and Canderson, I know what to do in the coming days.

    feedback will come after trying the applications.

    Koen
     
    Koen, Jun 18, 2013
    #4
  5. Koen

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Just a warning ... if there are too many waypoints in the *.gdb, you may need to take a really vanilla text editor like Notepad and break the itinerary up into blocks of 48 points each. An *.itn file can't use more than 48. *.itn files are human readable, so if you're careful about where you cut, you should have no trouble.
     
    canderson, Jun 18, 2013
    #5
  6. Koen

    Koen

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    België
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go1000live, Rider3, Rider5
    Thanks Canderson .. the limit of 48 has been incresed to an astonishing 100 in the Rider 5... ;-)
     
    Koen, Jun 18, 2013
    #6
  7. Koen

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Excellent! Didn't know that. Will file that away in the memory banks for the future.
     
    canderson, Jun 18, 2013
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.