one xl cant connect, please help!


Joined
Aug 14, 2007
Messages
3
i didnt realize you werent supposed to disconnect tt without clcking disconnect on ur computer prior to doing it. so now im stuck with a big red x, and it only goes away when i plug it back into my computer, problem is, tthome doesnt recognize any devices, although my computer does recognize it. i have no sd card either.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 21, 2007
Messages
3,975
Location
Toronto, ON Canada
TomTom Model(s)
ONE v2
i didnt realize you werent supposed to disconnect tt without clcking disconnect on ur computer prior to doing it. so now im stuck with a big red x, and it only goes away when i plug it back into my computer, problem is, tthome doesnt recognize any devices, although my computer does recognize it. i have no sd card either.
In HOME, are you able to click on device>change device>and select the ONE XL?

How about reseting the unit? There is a hole on the bottom of the unit where you need to stick a safety pin to be able to push the reset button.
 
Joined
Aug 14, 2007
Messages
3
no backup. and i have reset it and the same x pops up and all. and no i cant change device, it says, not compatible devices connected.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5,937
Location
Downey, California
TomTom Model(s)
GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
Without that back up and reset the unit can't restore itself.
How long have you had your unit? If less than a month, I would suggest to exchange your unit for another. That is what happened to my ONE when I purchased it.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
36
Location
N37 33* W122 3*
keep trying.

for me, i got the X too.

i dont exactly know what i did but i eventually woke the thing up. i kept plugging it back in.

restarting.

resetting.

all sorts...
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5,937
Location
Downey, California
TomTom Model(s)
GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
There is a way if you can connect your device to your computer and try to install an older firmwire then reinstall the new one. I can't find a firmwire from tomtom's website. You might have to contact TT Support so they can send you the file to download it.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
17
I have a question: why you don't use a diferent SD card? When I bought my TT XL, first think what I do it's to make a copy a card. Usualy I use a copy and original card I keep it in safe place.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2007
Messages
3,975
Location
Toronto, ON Canada
TomTom Model(s)
ONE v2
I have a question: why you don't use a diferent SD card? When I bought my TT XL, first think what I do it's to make a copy a card. Usualy I use a copy and original card I keep it in safe place.
The ONE XL doesn't come with an XL card. I guess what you can do is if you have at least 1GB SD card try copy the contents of the internal memory to the SD card and see if that will boot up.

I don't think it will work but I guess it worth a try.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
17
OOPS! Sorry... I have Regional version of TT XL, and I have SD, but, I don't have internal memory....
I put this question to TT Support and I receive an ambiguos response.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top