Noob 720 owner needs a lil help please

TomTom Model(s)
GO 720
Long time listener.......first time caller

Just recieved this past week, a spankin' new GO 720. I've been using TT software [v5 & v6] via an Axim x51v for many years.
I guess i'd be considered a TT "fanboy", but i've personally used the competitors, and hands down, TT has won me over
as a dedicated customer.

Independent owner/operator "big truck" , 3000+ miles avg per week. I get lots of "real time" testing and evaluation.

So far, i'm totally happy with the performance of the 720. Not much of a change from the PPC with the exception of some really cool extras.

GO 720 specs:

V.7.221 (8572/071121) OS:2318
Map: North_America_2GB v710.1584

USER FINDINGS: Bluetooth Phone

Verizon / Moto V3m Razr

Kept reading folks were having bluetooth paring issues.

The below procedure worked for me quite well:

in the wireless data setup on the TomTom

1. Phone selection - other
2. Carrier selection - other
3. Access point - vzw3g
4. username - (10 digit phone number)@vzw3g.com
5. password - vzw
6. number to dial - #777
7. No scripts

This procedure mirrors exactly the same settings i use to connect my cellphone/lappy [via a usb cable] to the internet.
I can make/recieve calls via 720. Importing of phone data into 720 works as well.

USER FINDINGS: Text to Speech

Does not work.

I've downloaded 2 of the computer voices
tts.jpg

To apply computer voices: change preferences > voice preferences > change voice > Susan is seen/test/selected. Next 2 done screens all ticked with the exception of the two disables. TTS still does not work.

change preferences > voice preferences > change voice > Susan is seen/test/selected. Voice is heard upon testing once. Try a second time and no voice is heard. Select next voice Dave. Voice is heard upon testing once. Try a second time and no voice is heard.

I have no idea what's going on here and no clue what the problem is. Regular voices work just fine. Help is needed.