no valid gps signal go 910

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by ybenormal, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. ybenormal

    ybenormal

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i recived a go 910 for christmas that was bought on e-bay, worked for about 1 week and as i was leaving work, stoped at a traffic light and lost signal, down for about 5 days now, preformed a restart, then did a factory set, then did a gps quik/fix update, no luck, called support line, as soon as i said e-bay that was the end of the conversation. please help
     
    ybenormal, Jan 9, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ybenormal

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Switch it on and tap the lower right corner of the screen, on the next page on the right near the top is a small signal strength meter for GPS reception tap that which should put you in the GPS Status screen, take the device outside away from the buildings and after 20 minutes is there any activity on the lower bar graphs either grey or blue, also top right of the GPS Status page is a small yellow/ back disk is this stationary or spinning? - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jan 9, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ybenormal

    ybenormal

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    the pinwheel is spinning and i have put my tom tom outside for about 1 hour
     
    ybenormal, Jan 9, 2010
    #3
  4. ybenormal

    ybenormal

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    still no valid gps signal
     
    ybenormal, Jan 9, 2010
    #4
  5. ybenormal

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    What about any activity on the bar graph or the display that shows you where the birds are located in the sky, is all this still blank, if so the GPS Patch aerial inside the device is probably dead - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jan 9, 2010
    #5
  6. ybenormal

    ybenormal

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    no bars, no birds? no nothing, HHHHHEEEEELLLLLPPPPPP
     
    ybenormal, Jan 9, 2010
    #6
  7. ybenormal

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Did you try a pin reset?

    If you did and are still getting no bars (even if grey) on the GPS status screen, then like Mike said, the wire from the GPS chip to the antenna is probably dead. If you feel like you can disassemble and solder, post back as Mike's got a library of disassembly pics and instructions.
     
    mvl, Jan 13, 2010
    #7
  8. ybenormal

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Here is how to get to the GPS aerial, its on its own PCB but I am not too sure where you could purchase a spare PCB from.

    You will need a Torx bit number 6 for this job, start by removing the case, the four screws are located under the rubber pads on the devices base

    [​IMG]

    The case "pod" simply removes leaving the device sat on the table
    [​IMG]

    I remove the GPS Patch aerial for this as it makes the later stages a little easier, two torx number 6 screws and the daughter board will lift away from its multipole connector.
    [​IMG]

    Mike
     
    mikealder, Jan 13, 2010
    #8
  9. ybenormal

    ybenormal

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    help

    could you please send me a complete assembley and instruction for tt 910
    thanks alot
     
    ybenormal, Jan 18, 2010
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.