No signal on my GPS

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by peruexplorer, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. peruexplorer

    peruexplorer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peru
    TomTom Model(s):
    one 130
    Hello everybody!

    I just bought a new TOM TOM ONE 130, I was so happy with it but when I turn it on it always says no signal GPS available. It says that I am in a building. I tried to get the signal outside in a port and in cocoa beach but I can not get any signal. I am disapointed because in few days I'll be travelling to Europe and I have a device that it doesn't works.

    Some between you had the same problem?

    Thank you very much for your answers because the web page of Tom Tom is not helpful at all.
     
    peruexplorer, Apr 9, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. peruexplorer

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,507
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Especially if a first use, set unit in an open area clear of tall buildings, trees, etc. May take a half hour or so. Don't move the unit around during this time.
     
    dhn, Apr 9, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. peruexplorer

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,432
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Also, connect the tomtom to your computer, install Tomtom HOME, and download all updates (especially QuickGPSfix).

    This will make signal acquisition much faster (10-15 seconds). QuickGPSfix needs to be downloaded once a week to maintain the high-speed acquisition.

    Otherwise it takes about 5-10 minutes to get a signal if the unit's been off for more than 3 hours.
     
    mvl, Apr 9, 2009
    #3
  4. peruexplorer

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    Did you ever get a gps lock?
     
    drledger, Apr 9, 2009
    #4
  5. peruexplorer

    imokah

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Man!!...a rash of this stuff is going on..INCLUDING ME!! Yesterday for the first time, my Go720 would not pick up all day..and it still is not picking up satellite acquisition. I had mine on outside for 10-15 and nothing. I did pin resets, factory resets, eliminated files that Dave and others had said to delete...and of course now TomTom Home hasn't had any updates since I deleted the old stuff...lol. I will keep trying Sure do like the Trip Master compass!!
     
    imokah, Apr 9, 2009
    #5
  6. peruexplorer

    peruexplorer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peru
    TomTom Model(s):
    one 130
    It won?t work. Thorw it away. I am already bored of trying to make work mine. I tried all but nothing happened.
     
    peruexplorer, Apr 30, 2009
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. TTA_anon

    Do LIVE services no longer update through HOME?

    TTA_anon, Mar 10, 2013, in forum: TomTom Services
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    2,333
    canderson
    Jun 30, 2013
  2. TTA_anon

    No more space for map updates on a GO 740?

    TTA_anon, Oct 26, 2013, in forum: TomTom Services
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    2,871
    Andy_P
    Nov 13, 2013
  3. Tuggy

    My TomTom One 3rd edition keeps shutting down.

    Tuggy, Jul 16, 2016, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    922
    Tuggy
    Jul 17, 2016
  4. Chrispy

    No spoken traffic announcements

    Chrispy, Nov 28, 2016, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    551
    canderson
    Nov 28, 2016
  5. John Forino

    No street info on map

    John Forino, Dec 2, 2016, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    728
    canderson
    Dec 2, 2016
  6. greywolf49

    No maps available

    greywolf49, Dec 7, 2016, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    845
    canderson
    Dec 8, 2016
  7. mark croft

    start 52 no time on display

    mark croft, Dec 25, 2016, in forum: System Configuration and Customization
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    324
  8. Carl Parsons

    No display

    Carl Parsons, Jan 27, 2017, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    459
Loading...