No shortest route or maximum speed options on IQ Routes XL Version 2

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by radamfi, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. radamfi

    radamfi

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just bought an IQ Routes XL Version 2 and I don't seem to be able to find the 'Shortest Route', 'Maximum Speed' and 'Avoid Motorways' options that I used to like on my old, sadly lost, TomTom. Are these really no longer available? Can I do some kind of software update to get them back?
     
    radamfi, Jun 6, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. radamfi

    Hardgrafte

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    730
    You probably need the expanded menu. In Preferences select Show All Menu items.

    You may also have accidentally selected 'Always choose fastest route'.
     
    Hardgrafte, Jun 6, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. radamfi

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Sadly, version 2 models have the 'simplified' menu and ONLY the fastest route is considered for routing on those models.

    If you want the increased functionality, return the unit and exchange for a non version 2 model.
     
    dhn, Jun 6, 2010
    #3
  4. radamfi

    radamfi

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where is the Preferences option?
     
    radamfi, Jun 6, 2010
    #4
  5. radamfi

    gatorguy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom 930
    You don't have that option on your model. DHN's advice is spot on.
     
    gatorguy, Jun 6, 2010
    #5
  6. radamfi

    radamfi

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eh? How can you have a Sat Nav that doesn't do shortest route? Even a ?49 bargain basement brand can do it!

    Surely there must be software I can download from somewhere to sort this out? Presumably the hardware is up to it. I shouldn't have to go through the hassle and trauma of taking it back to the shop where they will no doubt say that there is nothing wrong with the unit.
     
    radamfi, Jun 6, 2010
    #6
  7. radamfi

    mikealder Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Blackpool UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    720, 930, 940, XL, One 3rd
    Take the unit back to the shop and demand a refund explaining the device is unfit for the intended purpose, these devices with dumbed down menu's are becoming a real PITA at the moment, shame the box doesn't actually state what the device is capable of - Mike
     
    mikealder, Jun 6, 2010
    #7
  8. radamfi

    telemike

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL335TM
    The point of IQ routes is to take you the fastest way there using historical road data which may mean a shorter or longer may be better. I find IQ routes are betterthan blindly selecting Shortest or Fastest on another brand.....
     
    telemike, Jun 6, 2010
    #8
  9. radamfi

    radamfi

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I often don't want the fastest route. Fastest route is often obvious anyway so I don't need a Sat Nav for it.. Shortest route, whilst often taking much longer, is usually more interesting when touring and (obviously) incurs less mileage, which is useful when hiring a car not on unlimited mileage or for maximising time between services.

    The 'maximum speed' option gives a happy medium, making sure you stay on sensible roads but via a reasonably interesting and fast route.
     
    radamfi, Jun 6, 2010
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.