no gps siganl on two different tomtom one's

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by landy_nick, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. landy_nick

    landy_nick

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    my tomtom one started losing signal so did reset etc. still no joy. so decided it was dead and borrowed one from someone else. still getting the same problem. with both tomtoms running they lose signal at the same time! been using it in the same vehicle for about four years and the only thing thats changed is that work fitted trackers about six minths ago.
    any ideas?

    thanks in advance,
    nick
     
    landy_nick, Sep 22, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. landy_nick

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Have gps blockers been installed in the vehicle?
     
    dhn, Sep 22, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. landy_nick

    landy_nick

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, it's bizzare just randomly stopped working last week
     
    landy_nick, Sep 22, 2011
    #3
  4. landy_nick

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Well, try this ................

    Use Explorer to delete anything in the ephem folder on the unit.

    Then, go here:
    c:\documents and settings\yourname\my documents\TomTom\Home\Downloads\Complete\ephemeris\

    and delete any sub-folders found there.


    Connectto Home and a new gpsquickfix file should be offered.

    Install and detach properly from Home using the Device Disconnect icon.

    See if it's any better?
     
    dhn, Sep 22, 2011
    #4
  5. landy_nick

    landy_nick

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, i'll try that and let you know
     
    landy_nick, Sep 22, 2011
    #5
  6. landy_nick

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,237
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    What you describe IS indicative of someone in the area running a GPS blocker .. and that would be precipitated by your company installing the trackers. One of your compatriots is likely doing a naughty. Check to see if others in proximity are having the same problem, and if so, you may have to report it.
     
    canderson, Sep 22, 2011
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.