No food or walmart for me

Discussion in 'TomTom POI Requests' started by drledger, Sep 14, 2006.

  1. drledger

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    Maybe I am doing something wrong but I loaded the following
    Hardees, Taco Bell, Walmart, Wendys, Radio Shack but if TomTom is to believed there are none of these businesses here. I cannot ascertain what I am doing incorrectly.
     
    drledger, Sep 14, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. drledger

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    What are the steps you did to load the POIs?
     
    Pedro2NR, Sep 14, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. drledger

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    unzipped the file then copied those contents to North American file on the tom tom.
     
    drledger, Sep 14, 2006
    #3
  4. drledger

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Looks like they are in the correct file. Have you tried going to preference, disable and enable POI and checking to see if they are listed there?
     
    Pedro2NR, Sep 14, 2006
    #4
  5. drledger

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    The icons show and some sites not local. Perhaps it is just that our area is not included in the data bases that are used to create the POI.
     
    drledger, Sep 14, 2006
    #5
  6. drledger

    Jason

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    25
    I'll try to update the POI to see if somehow there were area's missed in my original creation of the POI.

    Sometimes our database collection methods are not 100% accurate, but when you report errors to us like this we can go back and correct the file :)
     
    Jason, Sep 14, 2006
    #6
  7. drledger

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    Aren't you nice. Is there a program that would allow me to open a POI and look at the information contained. As I said if I did everything correctly, and I am the one who can err , trust me, it seems that nothing shows up but I will keep checking.
     
    drledger, Sep 14, 2006
    #7
  8. drledger

    John

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Monterey Park, CA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go510
    drledger, did you try the Walmart file I updated last night with TN locations? Please download that one and report back if you can. As for opening a POI file, you can use PoiEdit. Thanks.
     
    John, Sep 14, 2006
    #8
  9. drledger

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    Yes I downloaded it this morning and installed it. I will keep learning about the unit etc. Perhpas I am just overlooking something in the loading or in the operation. I looked up the coordinates for my area and there are no listing s in the neighborhood. We have been beamed up Scotty;.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2006
    drledger, Sep 14, 2006
    #9
  10. drledger

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    loading POI's

    Be careful you do not do what I first did. If you load the zip file into the North Am. directory and instruct it to unzip - it often creates sub-directories - which will not open with the TT. Make sure the un-zipped files are in the target directory and not a sub-directory.
     
    GAW, Sep 22, 2006
    #10
  11. drledger

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    Went back to make sure that is not what I did and fortunately I did not. I looked at the Walmarts listed and they show but just none nearby.
     
    drledger, Sep 22, 2006
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.