Night Colors

TomTom Model(s)
Press "Use Night Colors"--night colors appear for, oh, 1-2 seconds, then reverts to normal colors/brightness. As a Motorcoach Driver, I pass thru lots of dusks (and a few dawns) where changing the slider to diminish screen brightness is a pain. (Tried firmware upgrade, reset---no changes) Any suggestions?

Try the Clear Flash tool here.

If that doesn't work, a more draconian thing to try may be to 'restore to factory defaults'. All your custom settings will have to be redone.

Well, in the firmware upgrade (7.900), I lost all my favorites. Retained lots of downloaded POI (Truckstops, restaurants...) and downloaded map color schemes, but still no night color. Tried to restore from (year old) backup file. Somehow wound up with a factory restore--no POI or map color updates, no favorites--OLD firmware (from 7.900 to 6.520). Did restore function of night color however. Second restore attempt provide Favorites, but none of the other (more labor intensive) updates. Trying now to re-do firmware upgrade without losing further ground. Sigh.

I guess I should have prefaced all this with--TT GO 700 [no automatic settings].

Re-did firmware upgrade. Now have 7.900 again. Night Color normal function restored. BUT--have NO Favorites, NO POI updates, NO map color updates. A-R-R-G-H!

Last edited:
I guess I should have prefaced all this with--TT GO 700 [no automatic settings].

Re-did firmware upgrade. Now have 7.900 again. Night Color normal function restored. BUT--have NO Favorites, NO POI updates, NO map color updates. A-R-R-G-H!

I believe this is the nature (and main problem) with 7.9. You would be much better off staying with an older application. The ONLY reason to go to 7.9 right now is if you just have to have 815 maps. Otherwise, stay away from it.