New XL340 Owner

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by galaxy121, Jul 29, 2009.

  1. galaxy121

    galaxy121

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now, I just got my Xl 340 GPS. I have been reading about people having problems after updating their maps. Now my question is that, has that been fixed ? Can I update my maps without any problems. Also, I see that its a good idea to backup the device. I have a mac so I just did it through TT Home. Is that sufficient enough ?

    Thanks.
     
    galaxy121, Jul 29, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. galaxy121

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,001
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Please make your backups and restores using Finder, not Home. Make another one now.

    I understand that the newest map was resquished (for lack of a better term :) ) by TomTom to fit the 340 models without creating problems.

    Make sure you have the latest application as well.
     
    dhn, Jul 29, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. galaxy121

    galaxy121

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I have a backup through tomtom home and on my external so everything went updated without any problems. Worked perfectly.
     
    galaxy121, Jul 29, 2009
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.